The long blondes someone to drive you home?

Êîíñòàíòèí Öàðåíêî
     Novel # 3

     “When I look into the future, it’s so bright it burns my eyes”
                Oprah Winfrey (b. 1954)

     ‘May be we have got recognized our self?’
                (C. Tsarenko)
   
     I live in Paris on Montmartre Avenue not far from my juridical bureau. Every morning I’m used to go to my job by one of the most utiliesed capacity motorway in Paris. While I get my juridical bureau I like observing the other drivers with great pleasure. It’s very interesting to watch how each of them try to get into this stream of cars on Boulevard de Sebastopol. Each driver does it in his own way with some sense – of excitemen and fervor.

     Today as usual I’ve driven my car on crossroads on Etienne Marcel Avenue, which follows from Rue Montmartre to Boulevar de Sebastopol. I’m standing now in line and waiting. I’m listening the music and trying don’t hurt anyone. Frankly speaking I don’t like to be in such situation and that’s why I try to be as calm as possible. I’ve thought a lot that in different situation one car find something interesting. Now I’m watching with great interest how some road hogs try to get at once at the third line of car is passing by me. I know some men like to buy these nice cars to their eccentric wifes and mistresses. These nice cars move by leaps and very nervous as usual.

     And now exactly this kind of car gets going boldly to the crossroad. I’m looking with double interest to this self-confidence driver. Oh! What I see! This isn’t a brave ace; this is a charming Blonde who drives her pretty expensive automobile. “What are you doing? Where are you driving, darling?” But my charming driver, I must say, strains her little fore head as she steers a fighter “Mirage”. And suddenly Blonde easily decided this motorway problem. As many pretty and self-assured modern moment she didn’t first think a lot about this. Isn’t trying  to stop, she’s (her  little “Peugeot”) hitting one “Mercedes-600” to the right door, which stands perpendicular. Oh, my God! Diplomatic relations between German and France got infect causalities. ‘Mercedes’ has got Germany number.

     A huge driver with size of forehead as two laces so rooted to the spot that he even doesn’t leave his car. He’s only sitting and watching at this Blonde. His face expresses only some perplexity. But her face expresses the phrase: “What a fool! You could let me through and not nothing would be matter!” . And exactly with the same expression on her face she has driven off.  Wow! How well I know this expression. This expression belong to women who steer a steady course or to some ladies when they every time dissatisfied some men’s behavior or action. But now this charming Blonde slowly and very tidy travels over this huge man in ‘Mercedes-600’. ‘Mercedes’ begins to disturb the whole traffic in the street.

     In front of this car has formed a free space.  Our ‘Darling’ wants to drive in this area, to continue her way in the next row. How ever there is a difficult stream in that row too.  Ah no! How is it may be?… What’s she going to do now? Is it possible? Look! The new victim for this bold lady is very expensive fashionable ‘Jaguar’! She ‘kisses’ it to the right door too. She is going repeat her maneuver, which was so successful for her with poor ‘Mercedes’. She drives off and stands across ‘Mercedes’.  Suddenly. Boom! And at this moment the first victim driver begins to realize what has happened with him and with  ‘Jaguar’. In his opinion any rules don’t the matter on this terrible road. His ‘Mercedes’ is destroyed. The other car ‘Jaguar’ is a sorry sight. With mad sense from the insult for all men-drivers he hits this insolent woman in the side of her car. I think that the man in the ‘Jaguar’ saw (observed) it with great pleasure. Poor, poor Blonde. At last she has stopped. She is quietly sitting in her nice car. Her own life experience in communication with men doesn’t betoken something good for her. As for me I’m standing too, in this traffic jam cause from this mash of cars you can get out only with the help of helicopter. But here are gendarmes car. They used the pavement for their movement. They’ve got gendarmes station on Ramuxteau Avenue. Gendarmes left their car on the pavement. The victims have gathered a lot of people around them self . All of them were masculine. All of them sympathize with ‘Mercedes’ and ‘Jaguar’. The pretty blounde personifies a danger for all this mescaline’s society. But she is still sitting in her car. Gendarmes began to do their work – to drown the outlines of these accidents and to make some writings. But the Blonde – is still sitting. Gendarmes have got asked to get away all broken cars on the pavement. The Blonde is sitting calm. Some people began to cry for her: ‘to put out her car from the road or otherwise whole Paris late on the job’. So gendarmes were well cultured about talents of the girl to decide some traffic situation, they tried to clear her road. She could only to drive on the pavement. But the charming Blonde at last ‘awaked’ and cranked an engine. Gendarmes were very polite all this time to this girl. They even cleared the road for her. But they made a mistake – they didn’t get away their gendarmes car. And beautiful woman’s leg with high heel throws the pedal of clutch and steps on the gas. There are shouts, wailings, storm of applauses of other drivers and crowds in the street. Yes! The nice terrible car of the girl cuts into ‘Renault’ of gendarmes.

     And casually I’m catching the glance of the neibour in my car – a pretty fair-haired girl. She was sitting near me all this time and has seen everything. Suddenly I’m beginning to understand her feelings. She’s very very ashamed for all Blondes drivers.
   
     May be she is recognizing herself?
   
     Constantin Tsarenko