Сердолик

Юлия Джейкоб
The Cornelian
(by Lord Byron)

No specious splendour of this stone
Endears it to my memory ever;
With lustre only once it shown,
And blushes modest as the giver.

Some, who can sneer at friendship’s ties,
Have, for my weakness, oft reproved me;
Yet still the simple gift I prize,
For I am sure the giver loved me.

He offer’d it with downcast look,
As fearful that I might refuse it;
I told him, when the gift I took,
My only fear should be to lose it.

This pledge attentively I view’d,
And sparkling as I held it near,
Methought one drop the stone bedew’d,
And ever since I’ve loved a tear.

Still, to adorn his humble youth,
Nor wealth nor birth their treasures yield,
But he who seeks the flowers of truth
Must quit the garden for the field.

‘Tis not the plant uprear’d in sloth,
Which beauty shows and sheds perfume;
The flowers which yield the most of both
In Nature’s wild luxuriance bloom.

Had Fortune aided Nature’s care,
For once forgetting to be blind,
His would have been an ample share.
If well proportion’d to his mind.

But had the goddess clearly seen,
His form has fix’d her fickle breast;
Her countless hoards would his have been,
And none remain’d to give the rest.




Не показным великолепьем
Мне этот камень душу греет.
Блеснув лишь раз, теперь навеки,
Как тот, кто дал его, краснеет.

Пусть в слабости звучат упрёки,
Пусть дружбу предают злословью;
Он дорог мне, как в день далёкий,
Ведь он подарен был с любовью.

Друг камень протянул несмело,
Что я приму его, не веря;
Я ж молвил, что на свете белом
Страшней всего его потеря.

Храня той клятве верность, камень
Я впредь всегда носил с собою;
Он будто орошён слезами,
С тех пор я в дружбе со слезою.

Ни знатный род, ни груз наследства
Не украшают друга долю,
Пусть сад прекрасен по соседству,
Всё ж истины цветы – на поле.

Не тот цветок, что вырос в неге,
Пьянит красой и ароматом;
Тот, что возрос на диком бреге,
В обоих превзойдёт собрата.

Когда б прозреть слепому року,
Помочь, не оставаясь праздным,
Друг получил бы всё до срока
С его душою сообразно.

С глаз пала б пелена, богиня
В его чертах себя б узнала;
Ему б свои блага отныне
Все безраздельно отдавала.