Колыбельная

Юлия Джейкоб
Lullaby
By Sue Cowling

If I could write some music for a rain
To play upon your nursery window pane
You’d sleep the sounder for its lullaby
And it would sing more tunefully than I.

If I could teach the clock to tell you tales
Of unicorns and ships with silver sails
You’d never hear the story fail and die
For clocks don’t tend to nod as much as I.

If I could knit the shadows into shawls,
Unpick bad dreams and wind them into balls,
We’d throw them through the window at the sky,
Then pull the darkness round us, you and I.



Какой мотив дождю придумать мне,
Чтоб мог сыграть он в детской на окне?
Ты б наконец забылся крепким сном –
Мне не тягаться в пении с дождём.

Пусть за меня часы ведут рассказ
О кораблях, зверях: ведь в поздний час
Их не клонится долу голова,
Не замирают на устах слова.

Я б тени все пустила на платки,
Дурные сны рвала б на лоскутки,
Чтоб их в окно бросать вдвоём с тобой,
А после – тьмой укрыться с головой.