Mystique Sea

Îëüăŕ Â˙đńč
               

Name of this ferry intrigued me.
- Where it going? – I ask women, standing next to her car.
- Guemish Island.
- Never heard of it. How long it take to travel there?
- Oh, not long at all! And you will love it!
“Why not? – I thought to myself, - It’s early enough, I can be back before dark!”
It was a pleasant ride, people are quite colorful too, North westerners, bunch of Robinsons and Fridays, Island people.
 Sure enough, pretty soon I felt a little shake, sound of rubbing metal against the wood indicated – touchdown – we have arrived.
Fresh salty air made me hungry. There was a short line of people, standing next to  small eatery.
“Ice cream! Would be perfect!” – And I made my way there and stood behind women with a dog on the leash.
- What is your dog name? – I ask her with a smile.
- Lassie.
- Lassie, like in the movie?
- Yes, only, original was collie, and mine is sheltie. Mini Lassie.
- I smiled and went to pet her dog, and … next moment dog collapsed on the ground and start shaking vigorously.


- Women froze, then screamed with horror. She wanted to pet Lassie on her nose, but I yelled at her:
- She having a seizure!! Never touch her in the front at those moments, only back of her head, she can bite unintentionally!



- Lassie was foaming from her mouth and still had convulsions. I held her head, so she would not hit it hard against the ground, and few minutes later she took a deep breath, quieted down and opened her eyes…
All of this lasted no more, then few minutes, but when I looked up, we were surrounded by concerned people. One of them, tall man with a reddish beard, helped me to get back on my feet.
- Did this ever happened before? – I asked owner of the dog.

She nodded, her eyes were still full of tears:
- Once before.
- Then, you must take her to a vet, some dogs do have seizures, but it could be manageable, with proper medication. Phenobarbital, or, perhaps, “Select Seizure Formula”, if you prefer go natural…
She hugged me tightly:
-Thank you!!! I will make appointment! Thank you again!
- Don’t mention it, I did not do anything…
- May I treat you with an ice cream? – She asked.

I was about to get into my car, when red bearded man approached me:
- Sorry, I don’t know your name. I am Daniel. I have a favor to ask…
- Yes?
- I saw you there, with that poor sheltie… Are you a vet?
- - Oh, no! Just a dog lover, and a breeder. Well, I do, however, have a nurse degree, but no, I am not a vet…Something wrong with your dog?
- May be you can take a look at her? Please? I live just 5 minutes from here. I made appointment with the vet, but they cannot see her until next Wednesday… I worry, that she may be in pain..
I was hesitant to go with a stranger that I just met… What to do? On another hand, may be something I can do for his poor dog.
- Okay, I will follow you.
He lived just about 5-8 minutes away from the ferry, in beautiful modern house, nestled in the woods. I parked my car behind his and we went to the house.
Dog was part husky, part Sheppard. She was happy to see her master, but when she got up, I could see, what he was talking about – one of her hind legs was not touching the ground. She was panting hard.
- Is it broken? – Daniels voice was trembling.
- - Please, make her lay down, I will examine it.
After few moments of touching, palpating and moving dog’s leg, I came to conclusion:
- It’s not broken, and there no tearing in her ligament – I do not see a “drawer effect”, - I explained him the term.  – I think, she twisted, or overstretched it. She should be fine, but x-ray wouldn’t be a bad idea.
- - Anything I can do for her right now?
- - Give her an aspirin – coated preferably, full strength, one in the morning, one in the evening. It should help her with pain.
Pretty soon Keeva – that a name of his dog – was peacefully snoozing on her bed, close to a fireplace.

- I do not know, how to thank you! – Said Daniel. – It was so kind of you to come and take a look at her! I would have be worried all weekend, and there is no veterinarian on the island.
- Oh, no problem at all! I have dogs too, I understand very well, how you feel…
- I have an idea! – Said Daniel. – How about sharing dinner with me? Nothing special, may be grilled chicken and asparagus? Little salad? Please, I must do something nice for you! Please!
I was sooo hungry – ice cream helped just a little.
- Yes, I would like that.  - I said.
He smiled and went outside. I looked around. Lots and lots of electronic, not much furniture, but leather couch is very comfortable. Big fish tank in the corner – empty,–warmly illuminating room.
- It is almost ready for a new tenants, I just moved here, always wanted to have aquarium. Used to enjoyed them, growing up. – Explained man, noticing my interest.
- I have fish too, Tiger Oscars.
- Oh, I love those, very smart! I will have African cichlids, they are funny and so intelligent!
- What do you do for a living?
- I am a software engineer, working for pharmaceutical company, writing programs.
- I detect some accent..
- I am – Canadian. I can detect some accent too, - smiled he, looking at me.
- - Oh, that not hard at all, to notice, I am – Russian.
Now I remember, you remind me one of those “Kanaks” guys, hockey players.
- A, unshaved, like them!!! – He laughed. – Yes, I used to play it, in high school. I am from Quebec, French Canada.
He turned nice music for me and went outside again.
I love jazz.. Women’s voice was soothing and soft, like a velvet fabric. I closed my eyes…:

…there was bells on the hill,
But I never heard them ringing,
Oh, I never heard them at all,
Until there was you….

There was birds in the sky,
But I never saw them winging,
No, I never saw them at all,
Until there was you…

- Sophie Millman. She is from Russia too, - said Danial, and your remind me her a bit – I have met her in Toronto – blue eyes, fair skin, blond.
- She is lovely… - I said.
“And so do you.” – I read in his eyes…

Dinner was wonderful, company – pleasant. We both enjoyed Merlot from “Chato Saint Michelle”, and after a while I felt, like he was my long lost friend.. And then – I have heard a sound of siren. I haven’t even noticed, how fast it got dark!
- That a siren – Ferry is leaving.
- When is next one? I have to go home soon.
- Tomorrow morning. There will be no ferry tonight…
My heart stopped!
- You should have remind me, Daniel!
- I thought – you was aware of it…
I noticeably was upset! I never spend a night at unfamiliar place – never in my life!
- I will not be able to fall asleep here!
- Don’t worry, me either. – Said Daniel, looking me straight in the eyes. – Let’s just have some more wine, shall we? Not much can we do. We are stuck on the island, Like Robinson and his loyal friend Friday…
Oh well, he is right! Why spoil such a nice evening with pouting – nothing we can do anyway.
- Let’s dance! – Invited me Daniel.
- You are too tall for me!
- I have a great idea, how about..
He lifted me firmly, and put my feet down on his own, and brought my body close to his.

And that was perfect!


I was not familiar with a melody of this song that wondered in the dark corners of the room but it was beautiful..:

I can see you thinking, baby,
I been thinking too,
About the way we used to be,
And how to start anew.

May be I am a hopeless dreamer,
May be I got it wrong,
But I’m going where grass is greener,
If you want to come along.


-“Pink Martini” – I like this band, I saw them, performing in Woodinville winery,  the one, produced that Merlot, that we both enjoyed..

He was whispering this into my ear, and I could feel, how his lips touching my hair. I have noticed, that he is holding me tightly and can feel, how pulsating blood in his veins and arteries, and… somewhere below.
I felt hot! Must be fireplace.. He put too much wood in there! Or..
I did not allowed myself think to the end of fraise. I did not have to. He said it out loud:
-You are making me hot! You are – so hot!

And then – there was a kiss, soft, everlasting.. And I could feel, how his desire slowly decanting from his body into mine, like that dark, aromatic thick wine – from the bottle to the glass. And that wine needed to be tasted, consumed, before it will consume both of us entirely.

Oh that wine!  I could feel its influence already! It’s a good thing – you can always blame everything on wine…

All of a sudden, Daniel lifted me and carried in his hands on the spiral stairs, and I lost count of his steps and felt a bit dizzy. He put me on his huge bed, must be made for a king, and he undressed me slowly. And then – he undressed himself.
 He was build, like a young god, he looked, like a sturdy tree, all muscular and very straight, he smelled, like one too- a bit bitter and fresh. And he began to kiss me. Slowly, like he was afraid to spill it, going up along my body and not forgetting even one little spot of it. I closed my eyes. My body covered with a sweat, and I felt, that it makes him even more arouse! There I feel him already on a top of me – he could hardly to hold on, and then.. He covered my lips with his, and  - we become one. Just moment ago there was two of us, strangers, not even close acquaintances and now…  Nothing could separate us now! I felt, like a wild horse, charging in the prairie, somewhere far, beyond all visible horizons! And my heart was galloping next to his, and my swollen   lips were whispering angrily:
“More, more, faster!!” I was out of breath, but could not stop. Nor did he.

Then – tides were out. We were laying on our backs, taking  a break, restoring our energy, before a new wave of passion come. We had nowhere to rush! We had all the time on  Earth, all night – before us. And that was – our night.

Slowly morning light squeezed itself between curtains, not daring to disturb us – lifeless, empty, and wet. Our arms and legs were tightly braided together, and we looked like that God from India – Shiva – one body and many arms and legs.. That was – us.

*************************
-Will I see you again? – asked Daniel, gently straightening out my hair.
- You are so much younger, then me.
- How is this matter?
- Then - may be. I will email to you.
He nodded:
- Please do.
He turn around and walked away.

I swear, I could hear him singing that song  from “Pink Martini”:

…Fortune is the fickle friend,
I am tired to chasing fate,
And when I am looking in to your eyes,
I know, you feel the same.

Life is moving oh, so fast,
I think, we should take it slow,
Rest our heads upon the grass,
And listen, how it grow…