Коан 4

Валентин Лученко
I want time to flow slowly,
like this broad damed river.
Who's watching it here?
Who's noticing its flow?
People in the cars, buses and trains
cross it through the bridges.
Nobody wants to look at the river
None can see it, taking for grunted its flow
And their times fly rapidly
and their lives flow away
 It's hard to be calm and placid  here
 but without the serenity there's no wisdom.
 So I'd better travel  to the seaside
 There's no better place than  Jadran.
 There's pure water,
 there are grapes are as sweet as honey,
 There's autumn, which is called
 "it's neither summer no yet winter "
 I know the time would be slowing down there
 because breathing could be natural again.
 There would be the tiny smile on my lips
 and no passersby would think
 I'm weird or crazy.
 Where're heavens there's no fuss,
 where the sun falls to the ground
 this a special angle.
 Here was once and is still  Renaissance.
 Here they were able to write first novels in the Slavic language
 when only a few Britons could read letters.
 I would listen to their mother tongue,
 their ancestors brought from the Carpathians.
 I'd be drinking young wine breathing the sea air
 I would be feeling as the flow of my life
 seep into stones, sand and water ...