Дневник Сумасшедшего 1421

Владимир Светашев
12861

I failed to make people interested in Schopenhauer. Sorry, Arthur. As you know, it was inevitable. Meanwhile, it opened up a new perspective on my past experiences. As I came home and started thinking about what had happened, I discovered that the situation resembled the one I observed in 2008. I was an ordinary guy, hanging out with a bunch of friends at weekends, attending parties, playing games, worrying about jobs and money. And then, damn it! I read a collection of works by Aristotle. I mean, who the hell are you going to share this experience with? My thirst for knowledge rose to the extent that all other needs and wishes were left behind. I started talking about it with my friends. It did not take long for me to discover that I had no friends. It made me upset and angry. I took this stuff too bloody personally. Nobody wanted to talk to me about philosophy, but everyone mindlessly talked about money, girls, parties, games and all sorts of nonsense. The whole network of friends had been annihilated at once. Later, I adopted the Aristotelean phrase “amici fures temporum” as a motto and decided to make friends only with dead philosophers. They are good friends after all, these restless seekers of wisdom; they are ready to talk to me for hours, days, weeks, months and years about philosophy. They have unlimited time to listen to me. Whenever I wish, I may create a lucid dream, invite Nietzsche and Plato, Schopenhauer and Hegel, Feuerbach and Sextus Empiricus, and discuss the destiny of knowledge.               

Bing's version:

I tried to share with them my love
For Schopenhauer's thought
But they did not appreciate
The wisdom that he taught

I'm sorry, Arthur, it's not me
It's just the way things are
But as I thought about the past
I saw a similar scar

Back then I read the works of one
Who changed my life for good
Aristotle was his name
He made me understood

But when I talked about his views
My friends all turned away
They left me in my solitude
They had no words to say

They only cared for trivial things
Like money, games and girls
They did not seek the higher truth
That lies beyond this world

And so I chose a different path
I made new friends from books
The dead philosophers became
My loyal mates and crooks

They always have the time for me
They never disagree
They join me in my lucid dreams
And talk philosophy.

Back: http://proza.ru/2023/05/12/797
Next: http://proza.ru/2023/05/14/874