The Golden Fish by Alexander Pushkin

/the second exerpt of the poem/

Then the old man came back to his lady
He told her about the great miracle he'd seen:
- "I had caught today a fish before I returned to you
That was a fish which could speak
Like we speak, just the same, the golden fish one!
She begged me to let her free
She wanted me to return her to the sea
She offered me the king's ransom
I could ask her for whatever I wanted to
But I didn't dare to take any ransom
I just let her free to the blue-sea"
The old lady became very angry
She began to abuse him roughly
- "You are a fool damned simpleton!               
You couldn't even take any ransom
From a fish who offered a ransom!
You might ask her at least about
A new trough, as that one I have now
Is split and old and completely broken!"
And the old man went to the blue-sea
He had seen its surface was waved lightly
He began to call out again the golden fish
It swam up and asked him:
- "What would you like, dear old man?"
The fisherman answered with a bow:
- "Have mercy upon us, sovereign of the blue-sea!
My old lady is angry with me
Now she doesn't let me free
With her reproach and coarseness
She wants a new trough. She just has one
But that is old and broken with splits"
The golden fish answered to him:
- "Don't be sad, dear fisherman, go home.
God will save you! And your lady will have
A new trough. Take it as my small mercy.


Рецензии