How I became Mrs. Keenan

For Mitch, the best husband I’ve had so far.

I married Mitch after I knew him for only 3 weeks or so. I was the one to propose. I always used to take initiative in relationships, even when I was in high school. My first boyfriend wasn’t planning on telling me he liked me. So I had to do that. Then I asked him if he was planning to ever tell me that, he said he would’ve done it next week. Yeah right, Peter! Same thing happened to my second b/f. We were 18 playing hide – and - seek in a local park (how random is that? Especially at our age) we happened to hide at the same spot & there on a log under an apple tree Brian asked me if I liked him or something & I said yes. Well Mitch said yes to me when I asked him: “Hey Mitch, wanna marry me?” It was pretty amazing; the feeling gave me butterflies, made me happy. Even though it was a random & rather odd thing for me to do. I used to be engaged too& my fianc;’s last name was long & started with a G, I don’t even want to repeat that. I just feel like it’ll take up too much room in my story. I knew I wasn’t gonna marry the guy with the G name, I just liked the whole idea of having a diamond ring on my finger. Poor G! (But I honestly don’t feel sorry for him & neither should you.)

Anyways back to my wedding & becoming a Mrs. The wedding was beautiful & short, something I really appreciated. Our priest Travis (I do like that name too, it’s all because of the band!) kept it as short as he could, I did hurry him up, he was very flexible. I was amazed. I am sure Mitch was too.

See one thing about Mitch is that he is catholic; I found that out 2 days after we got married. The wedding took place on a Tuesday, he told me that on a Thursday. So for him marrying someone he knew for that short period of time was an odd thing to do as well. His family was shocked, some of them still are. But they didn’t have an option & besides I married Mitch, not his family. Though me marrying a catholic, I seriously should question my behavior & religious views lately!

We didn’t kiss on our wedding day either, nor did we have witnesses or a reception. Was I sad? No, we didn’t have to spend a penny on our wedding ceremony. And you know that tradition about showering the bride & the groom with things like rice, candy, and other sorts of grain? We got showered; literally, well more hosed down, but we have a picture to prove that & it worked too.

Mitch has amazing hands, he can give you a feet massage, crack your back like no one else, he fixed my shoulder & taught me how to check if I am stressed or not (talk to me & I will share my husbands wisdom with you).

He also knows how to treat you right, I was lucky enough to end up with him. Mitch has that list of things that’s called something like “How to treat a lady”. He totally did that to me – gave me flowers for no reason, looked at the stars with me, hugged me, let me fall asleep on him, held my hand, went on a walk with me, went on a ride with me, threw me in the lake, turned me into a smurf by getting blue paint all over me (I got him back for that though), threw pudding in my face & old bananas in my hair. Been there done that. Mitch even made me run into the boys bathroom to get him back, luckily there were no other boys or girls in that bathroom. I got butterscotch pudding all over the wall & nobody ever found out, so I didn’t have to clean up.

He is nice & warm, that makes him a keeper right there, Russia is cold most part of the year, with Mitch I can save on a heater. I guess that applies to Minnesota too.

He has a nice smelling car, which he doesn’t like, because he is a racer & his Volvo is simply not a race car. I told him I’ll take the Volvo.

Mitch gets along with my friends & the kids, he can also teach you great dance moves. Daniel Clarck (you know who you are) that “Drive the bus” dance can’t even compete with Mitch’s skills (Mitch you’ll have to meet Daniel someday! You’ll get along!)

Mitch always remembers our anniversary, I forgot about it yesterday & if not for him, I would’ve totally missed it, isn’t it a guys prerogative? To forget things like anniversaries & birthdays? And not to notice haircuts? I feel like we switched roles in that case.

He likes tigers, cherry chap stick, girls on horses, me & good music. We have our own song. Though I don’t know what it’s called. It goes like “How wonderful life is now you’re in that world”. It’s from Moline rouge, something you won’t expect a guy to watch.

Mitch knows what kind of a dog he wants. Honey, when we get it, you are going to walk it, just making sure that you know.

Though people were expecting us to get divorced in a week, we didn’t. We had our fights though, I poured water on him & he threw me in the lake. We did stuff together – duck taped a bell on the roof of a dining hall at a church camp. One thing we never did though – we never told each other “I love you”. I feel like I’ve been wasting that phrase during the past year so much, Mitch is not gonna tell me that… And you know, I am not really worried… Why? Because we aren’t really married, Travis the priest was 13, we had duck tape rings for about 2 weeks, then mine came off (“You & your lotion!” was what Mitch told me). And I am not really Mrs. Keenan & never will be, even if we end up married. (I’d have too much fuss with the papers) But Mitch knows how to make me smile, how to make me happy, how to make my summer & maybe someday, some far far away from today day he’ll make my life.


Рецензии
Отличный и содержательный рассказ. В процессе чтения эмоции меняются с каждым абзацем - восхищение,удивление, огорчение,умиление... И сюжет такой близкий!!!

Нара Рейнбоу   12.01.2009 22:14     Заявить о нарушении