Sparrows in winter

When I was a young girl I was in a habbit of walking along the river in my native village and once I met Red on the way to my favourite place. We became friends. I found out that he was a bright person on the outside and inside. He had red hair, blue eyes, he was gay-hearted, cheerful and energetic. There was fire in his hair and in his heart.

read the rest of the storyOnce he offered me to put up a tent to earn our living. He did so, because he wanted to become independent. So we began our business. Red appeared to be a very good cook. He was always polite, friendly and funny while serving our customers and I tried to take his example. Our parents were very proud of us.

Red often told me:
"That Mr. White decleared he was going after you and added that you were pleasant to look at and..."
"How do you know that?" - I asked in amazement.
"Oh, it doesn't matter!" - he said with irritation.
"Well, it does," - a fox's smile appeared on my face.
"To tell you the truth I overheared his conversation with Mr. Smith."
"Shame on you"
"That Mr. White has already got on my nerves!"
I laughed and he frowned, but we liked each other. Everything was great.

But someday I saw Red was very depressed and lokked tired. I asked him, what was wrong, but he didn't answer. Later I learned he had lost his parents...
Day by dat he became more and more dispirited, that made me worry a lot. I tried to help me but he only got angry with me and refused to take any money.

I understood that we all would collide with serious problems sooner or later, but he was so young! Sometimes life makes such sharp turns, that we get lost in the dark forest of our problems and become unable to find the way out.

Red tried to overcome his troubles, but he couldn't. He couldn't do it alone! However my help was rejected again and again.

It seemed, everything was against Red, as soon someone set our tent on fire and he lost everything. After this incident he avoided meeting me, I tried to find him, but I was not able to. However once, while I was walking along the river, I met him face to face, and he couldn't do anything but expose his intentions.

"Mary, I... I want to tell you something..."
"Yes?" - I looked straight into his eyes and he turned away. It was raining hard and it seemed as if he was crying.

"I tried hard to change anything... I give you a credit for your kindness, but... but I have to leave you now..."
"What?!" - I was so surprised, I couldn't murmur anything else.
"I have to change place and..."
"I'll go with you" - I interrupted him.
"No. you sholdn't! You mustn't! You will stay with your parents!"
"I don't care what yu think! I'll go with you!"
"No, Mary, please! Try to understand me! It's only for your sake!"
"No!"
"Forget me! I'm a looser!"
"No, you are not!"
"Please, Mary!"
"No!"
For a few minutes not a word was said.
"You will not go with me" - Red said with confidence.
"Red, please! What will you do for a living?! For two it would be easier to overcome troubles!"
"Don't ask me!"
I leaned down my head and a sudden idea struck me.
"I understand why you don't want to take me with you..."
"You do?" - Red said in surprise.
"Yes... because you are like all the other men! You only want to find a profit in everything! And you tjink I'll be only a burden for you!"
"What?"
"And... - tears were streaming down my face. - You don't want to take me with you, 'cause.. 'caese.. you think I'm a weak poor girl and.. I'm not!"
"No! I don't take you with me, because I love you!"
There was a minute silence, and for a single instant I looked at him with less scorn. But then I said I didn't believe him and ran away. I simply couldn't stand it anymore.

Red stood there for about 5 minutes. I don't want to confess but I watched him standing there, as I was hiding behind a tree. Then he went away. And I fell upon the wet grass and cried, and cried...

They say, that love makes the world go round. I don't know. But I was sure that love was taring my heart apart then.
He lied! I knew it! I was sure! And maybe I was not so sure, but...
"Hands off my heart!" - I cried to silence. That night was full of tears and cold winds.

Something, maybe love again, made me go to the river next morning. I couldn't just sit at home. It was unbelievable, but I found Red, lying on the grass. It turned out that he was asleep. For the first time I saw him so calm and beautiful. It appeared as he felt my stare and opened his eyes.

"What are you doing here?"
"I was studying the life of green grasshopers in here."
Only Red could make me smile at that moment and he did.
"I must have dozed" - he confessed.
"Red... I looked at things from the wrong side. You are not like all the other men... you are... I'm sorry. I was wrong... and if you still care after what I said, then..." - I couldn't find words and broke off.
"I'll never be able to get angry with you, - he said tenderly. - You were right. When sparrows feel cold they do press theirselves to each other, and it gets warmer," - he added, smiling.
"Do you think I look like a sparrow? - I asked. - Oh, yes! Espesially my tousled hair!"
Red laughed aloud. Such a beautiful, pleasant sound.
"I've decided to steal you and carry you to the forest."
"I would be glad to be stolen.. by you."
And then he embraced me, saying:
"You are my little sparrow."
"And you are mine."

But the world is so big for two little sparrows...


Рецензии