My own personal summer

We met in summer. No matter what were the circumstances of our meeting – that’s just summer that matters. Any time after that, he was the son of summer itself – shining, laughing and warm. No matter – spring, winter or fall – I had my own personal summer sun.
His eyes sparkled so bright that I had to narrow my lids. Almond-shaped treasuries of cunning and courage shined behind thick glasses lenses. His eyes always changed their color – from dark brown to bright green, but they never were cold – blue or grey… No matter – cloudy or dull – I had my own personal warm summer sky.
His smile was wide and open. I could never help smiling back. Even in the subway at 7 am, remembering his smile, I grinned happily, and saw people looking at me in wide-eyed astonishment. It was like a warm summer breeze – it tickled my heart and made me smile. No matter – cold or frosty – I had my own personal tender breeze.
He was tall and broad-shouldered. I felt confident and calm with him. He hugged me – and there was nothing left to worry about. No matter – rain or hailstorm – I had my own personal safe shelter.
He had a scar on his hand. Its shape reminded me of a sickle. The former wound damaged some nerves - sometimes his hand trembled and I wringed it tighter. No matter - stormy or windy - I had my own personal anchor in this storm to hold.
Loose jeans, bright t-shirts, a funny walkman with a dog called Sammy in the menu and a cap – that’s what he wore. The cap peak always hindered me when I stood on an upper step of the escalator – the golden letters NY could never be a substitute for golden eyes. I always recognized him from the farthest side of the street due to yellow, red, green and blue colors and his confident gait.  No matter – grey or boring – I had all colors of my own personal summer.
We parted in winter. No matter what were the circumstances of our parting – that was just… Actually, there was nothing that mattered after that.


Рецензии