The Star-Child

More than one time I have decided to write this story in Russian, but I couldn’t. I didn’t know why. Now I understand that the reason was the language. English is more suitable for this story about this person.
First I want to make one remark about this story. The subject of it doesn’t connect with Oscar’s Wild story “The Star-Child”. I only have chosen this name for the character of my story. I always like to give names to people who are special to my mind. And I’m going to prove you that the Star-Child is really something special.
I met him more than half a year ago. When I saw him for the first time, I didn’t notice something remarkable. He was so silent and seemed to be very shy and canny. He wasn’t talkative at all, and what is more, I thought he didn’t speak at all!
His appearance was casual. He wasn’t very tall, but he was taller than I. He had slim and sporty build and a firm step. His behavior was calm and, as I noticed, he didn’t do unnecessary things and movements. His clothes was neat and tidy. So I came to a conclusion, that he was an orderly person.
Also I always pay my attention to eyes and face when I meet somebody. He had an oval face and a head of chestnut curly hair. He wore glasses and that made his dark eyes so expressive or even charming.
I became very interested in that person because his appearance showed me that there was a mystery in his soul.
Some days later I got a good chance to speak with him. First my question was: “Tell me please, have you got a dream?”. Of course he didn’t answer me. But that was a good start for conversation. And very unusual conversation… We talked about life, about our aims and wishes, about truths and lies of the world. It was strange for me to talk with unknown person about philosophical things, but it was very great, interesting and amazing. Russian wasn’t his native language, but he spoke like a hero of a novel; so correct was his speech and so literally was his language.
Soon I get to know him better. His home was very far from here. He loved his family but he had to live, study and work here. He thought that he had a mission to get a good education and return back. He wanted to be a teacher in his own school. He was really bright, good-mannered, very smart and intelligent person. Simultaneously he was very patient, thoughtful and dreamy.
Ones my friend asked him: “Where have you been?”
He answered without any reflection as I was so common: “I was flying”
I took a small pause to think and then asked: “Where?”
But he kept silent.
I made a resume: “You are a Star-Child!”
“Why?” – he asked. It was my turn to keep silent.
It was very strange how I could understand him and his passing over in silence. But I could. Sometimes I thought that our souls were the twins. Strange idea, but it was so.
One day he reminded me about my first question about his dream.
“Now I can answer you, because you know me quite well – he said. – My dream is to know what is called “Love”. I have never felt that sense to somebody except parents. And maybe I won’t felt it in future. I find a lot of examples of that sense in history and literature. I can say that I fall in love with that sense, because I know that it is so wonderful. Maybe it is stupid…”
“It isn’t” – I continued.
Why did I continue? I have simply understood his mystery. He didn’t know that sense and partly it made his an innocent as a babe unborn. The star-Child! So wise but so unadapted! He was full of dream and that disturb him to live in our cruel world.
There is an ending point of my story. If you ask me what was the end of our meeting, I’ll answer you. Some days later he made me a declaration of love. He looked so happy that he found this sense in his soul with a help of me. I wasn’t shocked, because sometimes I can prophesy about a future. But I knew his mystery, so it was nothing interesting in the future. It was the real end without a chance to any relations.
After that he disappeared from my life. I have not seen him about five months. I hope that the Star-Child will find his way and his love. And then his life will be like a fairy-tale.


Рецензии