***

                ONE BEATED COSTS TWO  UNBEATED

                (The story is based on real events)

I had been working a confectioner at the cafe named "Sailing vessel" for five years, before  it  was "washed away" by the crisis.
My brother gave me an advice to get a job at  immovables agency.
I came to a nearby agency and offered myself there.
- You are welcome! - said the director and pressed my hand warmly.
I was moved to tears by his benevolence.                - Just now - he said -  we are celebrating the tenth anniversary of our opening at the office. You may join up.
- But I don't know anybody there! - I exclaimed.
- Just a most convenient moment to make acquaintance! - he smiled warmly. - Follow me!
There were many men and women sitting ву the long desk, which was abound in wine and snacks.
The director introduced me and all the men pressed my hand and  women rewarded me with smiles.
- Let's drink for our nouble business! - the director raised his glass. - For our wellbeing!
All of us drank.
We were drinking the whole evening, eating delicacies, joking and laughing. It seemed to me that I was displaced in a beautiful dream.
My new colleagues were so kind and warm-hearted that I felt myself happy.   
"It's a paradise! - I thought. - Why my brother had not told me about it earlier?"
- And now, - said the director, - let me  present you our firm's  T- shirt.
Smilling sweetly he handle me the blue T-shirt with a bright inscription:
"Nevsky sindrom".
I was very grateful: I had not earned a cent for the company, and was already full, drank and also rewarded with the nice T-shirt.
Besides I was offered a cup of strong coffee, so I should be able to get home on my own legs.
Unfortunately I spilt it over my shirt.
- Here is the time to test the T- shirt! - smiled the director.
Everybody laughted.
I went to a toilet and changed my clothes.
When I returned  dressed in the T-shirt all the agents applauded...
  I went back  from the banquet in high spirits.  The pass stretched through the smolensky wasteland sinked deep into the dark.
Several shadows appeared from the blackness.
- Will you treat me to cigarettes? - asked one lighting up my face by a torch.
While I was giving him the cigarette, the other lighted up my back.
- He is from that cursed "Nevsky sindrom"! - he exclaimed.
- So what? - replied his mate. - What of it?
- That fucked agency made a fool of me a year ago and left me without my flat!
- Are you sure it was exactly this agency? - I asked in  confusion.
He answered me with a powerfull hook.
I dropped on the earth and he was kicking me badly while his friend was smoking my cigarette.
  I came to myself early morning.  My head hummed, cheek was swollen, hand and two ribs -broken. I was in blood and tasted it in my mouth: three of my teeth were out.
  I hardly could crept to a hospital.
  Month later I call up to the agency and said the director that I wouldn't work there.
- But why? - he asked.
I told him what  had happened.
- So what of it?! - exclaimed the director. - Now you became a more experienced agent!
- Are you joking?
- Not at all!  One beated agent costs the two unbeated! - he laughed.

                The End.


Рецензии