Across the TV screen. Part 5

Part 5.


       The seances were over. The seances are going on. But now they are presented in so many forms and kinds. Everywhere I found  for myself the words that interlaced with my life. It was a live dialogue, real actions. It was the development of our language, the language we used to speak then.


       The evening was so late that it could be considered the night. I switched on the TV set. An interview with a famous  sexual pathologist was at live broadcast. Different questions were discussed, and among them, the problem of a matrimonial compatibility. I feel that He "sees" me. And, upon examining calmly, he says as if to answer somebody's question, that we are compatible and that all good is quite possible. The only thing that disturbs him is our difference in age. Though this does not disturb me, and I even like it very much.
 

       I have written once that we had developed our language. And he told me in details in this language about it. He answered the most interesting questions. On my part, I spoke much about myself, my life. We feel as if we are in a classical dance, him being a leading partner. He is a manager and I am an actress. He hears me. And if he does as I have asked, he does it to a super-excellent mark, not even to an excellent mark. But our language is not restricted only to such capacities. It is a live language of actions. By means of this language you can speak for 24 hours a day.  And, it is naturally unreal to describe it in details. But I shall try to present the moments that I found most interesting and that retained in my memory as close to the reality as it was or as it is.      


       It was the Easter day yesterday. I brooded over the fact that the people most close to me – and I have such – had congratulated me and he did not. No sooner had I thought about it than the telephone rang. I took the receiver – there was silence in it. I speak and silence is the answer. I was about to put the receiver down, then an old woman's voice suddenly said  hoarsely:
       "I would like to speak to your granny".
       "She is out now".
        A pause.
        "Is it Helene?"
        "Yes, it is".
        "It's a pity! I wanted to congratulate her on a festive occasion. Christ is risen!"
        "He is, indeed!" -  I answered.
        "I can tell her that you have called her up. I am sorry, who is speaking?".
         A pause. And He says with a reproach in his voice:
        "Don't you  recognize me?".
        For some reason  I answered:
        "No, I don't".
        Then he called a woman's name, now it was the old woman's voice.
        "I'll tell her – I went on – she will come soon. Call her up once again in half an hour".
        I put down the receiver. Naturally, nobody called up later.
        I had so joyful feeling. There was something natural and artificial in it. It was surely He, but the confidence came only after I put down the receiver. I felt slightly giddy though it lasted only some seconds.  I tired to remember the name of this woman but failed to do it. It was useless. The information was totally "erased".


Рецензии