I hunger for freedom!

Week 1st  Journaling prompt: Complete the sentence:
“I hunger for…”
Sit quietly and think about what you hunger for physically, emotionally, intellectually, socially, spiritually.

I hunger for freedom, yes, for freedom. Because in my veins run Georgian and Gypsy blood.
Both of those nationalities, more than life, love freedom. Maybe also American Indians who never accepted slavery from nasty pale – faced Europeans who came to their country and brought all the worst you ever can find in the world.
 And now I’m in a jail.
You ask me, how I’m feeling physically, emotionally, spiritually. I’ll try to explain.
        A couple of weeks ago the nurse, who constantly measures my blood pressure, told me:
“Mike, I see a very good improvement in your blood pressure. It seems to me that the jail conditions are good to you!”
I replied, “What do you mean?”
“I mean you’re relaxed here.” – She said, “Relaxed away from your home, your job, your wife at last. You have a good time here!”
       “Oh, yes,” I said, “like a tiger has fun in his cage! Did you ever see a tiger in a zoo?
Did you try to look in his eyes? It seems to me that his eyes are full of tears! How can you put a free wild cat in a cage? Especially the nasty looking tigers dirty feeding box, in cage. What?! Feeding box for a tiger! It even sounds weird!
         That’s how I am, like a tiger doing “circles” in my cage, I’m sorry, in my unit!
And there’s a crazy spring smell of freedom, mixed with a smell of flowering trees coming through the fencing of our recreation  yard. And Sun, a spring Sun, which you can see, and you can feel this only a couple morning hours through the cage of the  same little yard, until it will go up between the buildings in the fenced in space and disappear at the “prohibited” upper level.
          And you ask me, how I feel physically, emotionally and spiritually?
You are asking for me!

4.11.10  5:00 a.m.  Baltimore  BCDC  Michael Kobylatski  (aka “Russian”)
    


Рецензии