Очи черные

                Вл. Высоцкий
Перевод Т. Грищенко

I. Погоня

Во хмелю слегка
Лесом правил я.
Не устал пока –
Пел за здравие.
А умел я петь
Песни вздорные:
“Как любил я вас,
Очи черные…”

Being boozed a tad
I was crossing wood.
Wasn't tired yet,
In a splendid mood.
Singing senseless songs
In my spirits’ rise
How I loved you once,
Black-n-bloody eyes.

То плелись, то неслись, то трусили рысцой.
И болотную слизь конь швырял мне в лицо.
Только я проглочу вместе с грязью слюну,
Штофу горло скручу – и опять затяну:
 
Horses kept slow pace turning it to fast.
And I got my face both in dirt and dust.
I will slash the horse, swallow dirt and drink.
There is no force which would stop me sing,

“Очи черные!
Как любил я вас…”
Но – прикончил я
То, что впрок припас.
Головой тряхнул,
Чтоб слетела блажь,
И вокруг взглянул –
И присвистнул аж!               

“How you keep, black eyes!
Like the devil’s links…”
But I finished, guys,
All my spare drinks.
I shook up my head
To get rid of dreams.
Though I go ahead,
Yet to hell, it seems!
 
Лес стеной впереди – не пускает стена,
Кони прядут ушами, назад подают.
Где просвет, где прогал – не видать ни рожна!
Колют иглы меня, до костей достают.

Forest stood on my way like a dark gloomy wall,
Horses pull their rein in the dead-of-night mash.
Where’s gap, where’s light? – I don’t see them at all!
Needles sting me like snakes, get to bones through flesh.

Коренной ты мой,
Выручай же, брат!
Ты куда, родной,
Почему назад?!
Дождь – как яд с ветвей –
Недобром пропах.
Пристяжной моей
Волк нырнул под пах.

Wheeler, save, my kid!
Wheeler, gee, old guy!
Let me get through it,
Don’t let me die!
Toxic rain makes drown.
Life is worth no coin.
Hungry wolf rushed down
To my horse’s groin.

Вот же пьяный дурак, вот же налил глаза!
Ведь погибель пришла, а бежать – не суметь,
Из колоды моей утащили туза,
Да такого туза, без которого – смерть!

There’s no chance to escape, drunk and stupid bastard!
Death had knocked at your door with its scythe, goodness bless!
Someone thieved from the pack ace, my principal card,
And the lack of this ace dooms me straight on to death!

Я ору волкам:
“Побери вас прах!”
А коней пока
Подгоняет страх.
Шевелю кнутом –
Бью крученые
И ору при том:
“Очи черные!”

I am damning wolves,
Horses run all right –
Fear’s the best of tools
Making expedite.
I am moving knout
Hitting backs and thighs,
Throat vomits shout,
“Black-n-bloody eyes!”

Храп, да топот, да лязг, да лихой перепляс –
Бубенцы плясовую играют с дуги.
Ах вы, кони мои, погублю же я вас,
Выносите, друзья, выносите, враги!

Snorting, clatter and clang plunge to madness, not less.
Merry bells call to dance, play dance tune from shaft-bow.
Oh, my horses, forgive, I will ride you to death,
Rescue me, oh, my friend! Come to aid, oh, my foe!

От погони той
Даже хмель иссяк.
Мы на кряж крутой –
На одних осях,
В хлопьях пены мы –
Струи в кряж лились,
Отдышались, отхрипели
Да откашлялись.

Crazy dreadful chase
Sobered me but witched.
I am keeping gaze
At a mountain ridge.
We are covered with
Salty lather stuff.
We have wheezed, we have breathed,
We have coughed enough.

Я лошадкам забитым, что не подвели,
Поклонился в копыта, до самой земли,
Сбросил с воза манатки, повел в поводу…
Спаси бог вас, лошадки, что целым иду!

I bowed low to the horses, to them, to the fate.
They had lost all the forces but hadn’t betrayed.
I threw out all gear – let them easily drive…
God will save you, my dear, that I am alive!


Рецензии