Какой перевод лучше? Ваше мнение

Уважаемые друзья! Мы весь день с моим другом бьёмся не на жизнь, а на смерть. Сначала бились на кулаках, потом на битах, сейчас переходим на гантели. ))))) Возможно, скоро дело дойдёт и до «травматики».   А виною всему два переводчика, который перевели русский текст на английский. Привожу два варианта перевода. Я умышленно не говорю, какой мне нравится больше.  Назовём  их условно так: вариант «А» и вариант «К». А что скажете вы? Вот, если издавать книгу на английском, какой вариант вы выбрали бы и какой вариант вам ближе и понятнее?
 
         Но сначала текст на русском (это небольшой отрывок из повести «Радуга для друга» - рассказывает лабрадор-поводырь Трисон):

         Вы думаете, мне легко ходить с этой шлейкой? Вечером, когда я от неё избавляюсь, так хочется на спинке поваляться, лапы задрать к потолку, вытянуться во весь рост, потом попрыгать, мячик погонять. Иван Савельевич никогда меня не ругал, даже в тот злополучный вечер, когда я разбил вазу. Понимал старик, что не нарочно. Мне было стыдно. Прижался к его ноге и потихонечку скулю. Иван Савельевич гладит меня и говорит:

         - Не плачь, Трисон, бог с ней, с этой посудиной. Посуда бьётся, жди удач.

         Я до сих пор так и не понял, какая удача может быть от разбитой вазы? Пока не слышал, чтобы по телевизору об этом рассказывали. В общем, умер мой Иван Савельевич. Он умер, а меня вернули в школу. Как я по нему скучал. Кусок в горло не лез. Всё думал, кому же меня теперь отдадут…

         Не знаю, какими путями, какими судьбами, но как-то в нашу школу приехал Сашка, нынешний мой хоз…  подопечный.

        Если вы зрячий и никогда не сталкивались с проблемами слепых людей, то поясню нарочно для вас.  Прежде чем нас (собак-поводырей) передать новому хо… (тьфу, чёрт, надо же как внушили своими дрессировками) подопечному, мы должны провести какое-то время вместе. То есть привыкнуть друг к дружке, принюхаться, приглядеться. Хотя кто будет ко мне приглядываться, если они все слепые? Это я должен приглядеться. А они только прислушиваются, принюхиваются, ну, и ещё прищупываются. На всякий случай, чтобы аллергии не было какой-нибудь или ещё какой гадости. У людей много всяких заскоков. Это мы неприхотливые.

       Хотя случается, что и мы тоже взбрыкиваем. Да-да. Наша овчарка Лада из седьмого вольера так и не смогла найти общий язык со своей новой подопечной. Женщина вернула собаку обратно в школу.  Кстати, отличная школа поводырей. Так что, если понадобится, обращайтесь. Меня, конечно, там уже нет, но мои друзья и подруги вас, поверьте,  не подведут. Вы знаете, как нас там проверяют? Ого-го! Тесты всякие, испытания…

        Иными словами, кого попало туда не берут. Мы – студенты этого университета – все обладаем уравновешенной психикой, не обращаем (во всяком случае, стараемся изо всех сил) внимания на посторонние шумы, совершенно не замечаем этих отвратительных котов и кошек. Нет, мы-то их, конечно, замечаем (как можно не заметить?), но я имею в виду, не обращаем на них внимания.  Опять неправильно. И внимание мы на них обращаем. Но мы не имеем права на них реагировать, чем эти зеленоглазые твари часто пользуются. Серьёзно.

            Вот вам недавний случай. Завожу я своего Сашку в подъезд (там много ступенек, и нужно быть крайне осторожным), в этот момент из двери выходит краля персидских кровей (или шерстей, кому как угодно), вся такая пафосная, с идиотским розовым бантом на шее, коготочки пострижены, хвостик надушен, ушки, словно маленькие локаторы (верть-верть в разные стороны). Вот клянусь вам собачьей честью, у меня и в мыслях не было на неё рычать, тем более, гавкать. А эта белобрысая дура как фыркнет, как хвост свой распушит, как спину выгнет, и – хрясь! – меня лапой по мор…. по лицу. Если бы вы знали, как мне было обидно. Да если бы не мой Шурик, если бы не мой профессионализм и не моя ответственность, я бы этой истеричке одним щелчком хвост перекусил. Честное слово, от обиды чуть не заплакал. Пришлось немного вскульнуть – эта доморощенная «баронесса», несмотря на остриженные когти, всё-таки умудрилась поцарапать мне нос. Слизнул я солоноватую каплю крови и повёл Саню домой. А что делать? Нельзя мне на этих дурочек отвлекаться…

       Сашка до моего прихода в дом жил с мамой и бабушкой. Папа у них погиб в автокатастрофе. Оказывается, в тот роковой день, в машине вместе с отцом ехал и Шурик. Ему тогда было одиннадцать лет. Врачи вынесли приговор: радужка и хрусталик безвозвратно потеряны. Я мало чего понимаю во всех этих тонкостях, но после этой трагедии пацан перестал видеть. В семье поговаривают, что есть какой-то знаменитый доктор, который может вернуть Сашке зрение, но, когда это произойдёт, никому не известно. А пока я - его и доктор, и глаза, и друг.

Теперь на английском:




Вариант «А»

You think it’s easy wearing this harness? When I get rid of it at the end of the day all I want to do is lie on my back with my paws in the air, have a good old stretch, then jump about and chase a ball. Ivan Savelyevich never told me off, even on the unfortunate occasion I broke a vase. The old chap knew I hadn’t done it on purpose. I was mortified, though. I pressed myself against his leg and whimpered. Ivan Savelyevich stroked me and said, “Don’t worry about it, Trisong, it’s not worth getting upset over. Broken crockery brings good luck, as the saying goes!”


I still don’t understand how a broken vase can bring good luck. I’ve never heard it mentioned on television. Anyway, my Ivan Savelyevich died. He died, and I was sent back to school. I missed him so much. I had a lump in my throat that I just couldn’t swallow. I kept wondering who they were going to give me to next.

I don’t know what paths, what turns of fate led him to me but somehow my current master… I mean, charge, Sasha, found his way to our school.
If you are able to see and have never experienced any of the problems faced by blind people, then I’d better just explain something. Before we (us guide-dogs) are given to new masters (damn, I can’t believe you’ve got me saying it now too)… I mean, new charges, we have to spend some time together. To get to know one another, get used to the look and smell of one another. Mind you, how can they get used to the look of me if they’re blind? I’m the one who has to do the looking. They have to get used to the sound of us, the smell of us and yes, even the feel of us – just to be on the safe side, to make sure there are no allergies or other such nonsense. You and your human frailty. We’re far more robust.

Having said that, sometimes we also have to make a stand. Yes, indeed. Lada, a German Shepherd from the seventh enclosure, just didn’t get on with her new charge. The woman returned her to the school. It’s an excellent guide-dog school, by the way, you should bear it in mind if you ever need one. Of course I’m not there any more, but I assure you my friends won’t let you down. Do you have any idea how rigorous the standards are? We have to take all kinds of tests, exams, the works.

In other words, they don’t take just anyone. We – the students of this university – all have a balanced psyche, block out extraneous noises (at least, we try our best) and don’t even notice those loathsome creatures known as cats. Well, of course we notice them (how could we not?), I mean we ignore them. No, that’s not true either, we can’t ignore them. But we’re not allowed to react to them, a fact that these green-eyed pests often exploit to their own advantage. I kid you not.


Here’s a recent example for you. I was leading my Sasha into the entrance to our apartment block (there are a lot of steps, and you have to be extremely careful), and just at that moment this Persian princess (or puss, if you like) came out through the door, all airs and graces, with an idiotic pink bow round her neck, manicured claws, a fluffed-out tail and ears like little aerials (sticking up in different directions). I swear on my canine conscience, it hadn’t even occurred to me to growl at her, let alone bark. But this white fluffball hissed, puffed up her tail, arched her back and – whack! – swiped my muzzle… I mean, my face with her paw. I can’t begin to tell you how upset I was. If it weren’t for my Sasha, if I weren’t a professional with responsibilities, I would have bitten her impertinent tail in a flash. Honestly, I was so upset I nearly cried. I couldn’t help whining a little bit – even with manicured claws, this home-bred ‘baroness’ had still managed to draw blood. I licked a salty drop from my nose and led Sasha home. What else could I do? I can’t let myself be distracted by these foolish felines…


Before I arrived, my Sasha lived with his mother and grandmother. His father was killed in a car accident. Apparently Sasha was with him on that fateful day; he was eleven at the time. According to the doctors’ verdict, the iris and crystalline lens were damaged beyond repair. I don’t understand the details, but basically the boy lost his sight in the tragedy. There is talk in the family of a famous doctor who might be able to restore Sasha’s sight… but no one seems to know when it might happen. So for the time being I’m his doctor, his eyes and his friend.






Вариант «К»

You think it’s easy to walk around with all of my gear? In the evening, when I get rid of it, all I want to do is roll on the floor and ride that bicycle in the sky, or stretch out full length, and then chase a ball around or jump a bit. Ivan Savelievich never scolded me, not even the evening I broke his vase. The old man understood that I didn’t break it on purpose. I was ashamed. I nuzzled up to him and whimpered quietly. Ivan Savelievich petted me and said, “Don’t cry, Trison, it’s a dish. When it breaks, fortune awaits.”


I still don’t understand what fortune may come from a broken vase. At least, I haven’t heard anything about it on TV. Anyway, my Ivan Savelievich died. He died, and I was returned to the guiding school. I missed him terribly, couldn’t eat a bite. Kept thinking about who I will be transferred to next.

Don’t know by what luck or destiny Sasha – my current own… subordinate found his way to our school.

If you are sighted, and have never encountered the problems of the blind, I will clarify especially for you. Prior to us – seeing eye dogs – being transferred to a new own… (I am too trained for this) subordinate, we must spend some time together, get used to each other, by smell or sight, whatever. Although, who cares what I look like, since they are all blind? I need to look at them. And they just listen, or smell, or feel me, just in case, to make sure there are no allergies or something. People are weird. We, dogs, are not so prissy.



Although, occasionally, it happens that we also have our moments. Our german shepherd Lada from the seventh division couldn’t find a common language with her subordinate. The woman returned Lada back to the school. This is an excellent school, by the way, so if you end up with a need, please do keep us in mind. I am, of course, no longer there, but my friends, believe me, will not let you down. Do you know how strictly we are drilled there? All kinds of tests, examinations, assessments…

They don’t just admit whoever. We are students of a university and have exceptionally balanced psyches, we do not pay attention (in any case, we try our best) to any peripheral distractions, and do not even notice those repulsive cats. We do, of course, notice them (how could one not?), but we do not pay attention to them. Okay, that’s not right either. We do pay attention to them, but we have no right to react to them, and those green eyed rascals use this to their advantage. Seriously.

Here is a recent example. I am leading my Sasha into the apartment building. There are many steps at the entryway, so one must be careful. And at that moment a creature emerges from the door. This one is of Persian blood, or fur, if you like, haughty, with an ostentatious pink bow around the neck, manicured nails, perfumed tail, and ears, like little antennas, moving side to side. I swear on my dog fur, I hadn’t the slightest thought of growling or barking at her. And this blonde airhead just starts yowling, her back bent, tail like a chimney brush, and – smack – swats me across the muzz… face. If you only knew how upsetting that was! If it wasn’t for Sasha, if it wasn’t for my professionalism and my responsibilities, I would have bit her tail in two in no time. Honest, I could barely stand this manner of disrespect. I whimpered a bit, since this “baroness” with her manicured nails still managed to scratch my nose, licked off a salty drop of blood, and lead my Sasha home. What could I do? I cannot get distracted by those lame dames…


Prior to my arrival, Sasha lived with his mother and grandmother. His dad died in a car wreck. Turns out, on that ominous day, Sasha was also in the car. He was eleven then. The doctors delivered the verdict: the retina and lens are damaged beyond repair. I don’t understand much of details, but the boy lost sight after the tragedy. Rumors in the family have it that there is a famous doctor that may be able to return Sasha’s vision, but when this may happen, no one knows. For now, I am his doctor, his eyes, his friend. 


Рецензии