Part 1

- Whose turn is it to deal? - asked Jason, raising his eyebrows.
- Mine,- answered Phil after a short pause.
Phil took a pack and begin to shuffle it. Then he dealed two cards to Jason and himself as well. After that he put
the pack on the table and took a look at his cards. It was AJ of spades.'Okay,- thought Phil,- it's not a half bad
to have such a kind of hand, though it's not a premium hand... yes, I'm going to play this one'. Phil made the call by
putting his chips to the center of the table. Jason checked. Phil dealed a flop. The flop was A-c K-h 4-h. Jason was first
to act, and he decided to check the flop.'There's an ace of clubs,- thought Phil,- it means that I have a top pair.
He checked the pre-flop and flop. The pot is 20$. So, I'm going to bet... 15$'. Phil was reaching for chips when he
noticed that his opponent was doing the same thing. Phil bet, and Jason instantly raised it to 45$ by putting his chips
near himself.'That's quit interesting thing. He made a 3-bet',- thought Phil, turning aside his head from Jason. It looked
like it was very difficult to call the raise. Finally, he decided to call, but his face expressed a disgust. Although he
tried to hide his expression. The turn was K-d. At the moment Jason was biting his lower lip. He checked and
Phil checked behind. The river was J-h. The board was certainly dangerous for both palyers because there're two kings and
also a flesh-dro. Nobody knows anything about their hole cards, and it means that they always have to guess about this
subject. But that's about poker. It's just a part of this wonderful game. It's about your ability to read your opponents.
If you can read them, you can get money from them or sometimes save it. After the river came, Phil noticed how his right
leg began to shake. He tried to stop it, but in vain. But I don't think that this gesture was seen by Jason. Even though
he saw it, he didn't pay attention at all. Jason bet 55$.'It's not a big bet, but I still can't say what he really has,-
thought Phil, sighing deeply.
- Do you have an ace? - asked Phil, hanging his head.
- No,- said Jason energetically.
- A king?
- No...- said Jason,- I don't think so.
- Are you bluffing with me? Hey, tell me the truth. A smile spread on Phil's face.
- I know that you're bluffing. It won't be a secret for you, but I noticed your gesture... yeah. It told me that you're an
ugly bluffer,- said Phil, nodding. It was a sign of consent.
- I raise to 140$...
- I'm all-in,- murmured Jason.
- You moved all-in because your hand is weak. You want to see my fold, don't you?
- Shut up,- said he nervously.
'If you had asked me two years ago, I'd have said that he's a bluffer. But it's not about this case'.
- I fold,- said Phil loudly.
- Nice fold...- murmured Jason after a short pause, pursing his lips,- nice fold. I have a set of kings... Did you
really thought that I...
- None,- interrupt Phil, standing up.
- Oh... it's eleven o'clock now. You have to go home.
- Naturally,- he said slowly.- This session was utterly tough. I'm tired. And, by the way, I've lost 300$. WoW!
What an amazing evening!
After all is said and done, they both moved towards the front door.
- Bye.
- See you.

When Phil returned home, he saw that there's no light. He came to the main door and unlocked it. Then he came in and closed the door,
trying to do it without noise. Nevertheless when he switch the light on, he noticed a huge black shadow behind him. It was his father.
Phil slowly turned back. His face expressed a fear. But he thought that it would be more correctly to mask it. The light wasn't strong
enough, so it was hardly to see the features of his father. Phil's already seen his red face, which was full of anger, in similar situations,
but he didn't expect to see it again. They were standing in strained silence for two minutes. Phil was staring at father: his body leaned against
the wall, his arms and legs were crossed. Phil understood that it couldn't last forever.
- I want to hear your explanation!- said father angrily.
- I...- murmured Phil,- I was...
It seemed like he forgot everything. His face was dripping with sweat. He felt that his throat is dry.
- Where have you been?- cried his father. It was such a loud sound that his face went red.
- I was...
- Poker? POker?!Poker!!!- yelled he.- While I was with your mother who is, by the way, desperately ill, he was playing in his stupid cards!
What a caring son!
At the moment his face was as angry as possible. He was boiling with anger.
- How much money have you lost? Why are you silent? Tell me!!!
- 300$,- said Phil more confidently.
- 300$?!- exclaimed his father.
It isn't right to say that he was disappointed, he was in a rage.
- Go to bed. Now!!!


Рецензии