The fifth Beatle

For me, there never was life before The Beatles. They had always kept somewhere in the back of my mind that is the place for the would-be, even prior to my first real encounter with them through their music. They had been like eeries of sorts, peering from those photos that were being passed around, you know, the greasy, smudgy little affairs with the worn edges, the only ones we could get... Then I heard the songs, and later the albums, still later on people started getting hold of the movies, and books, and all that, but it was the music that had my brain blown open to all things new.
I think that what The Beatles did for me, and a lot of other folks, is unwrap this world that was me, the real me, and clear it of web-lock and lock-end. I heard Sgt. Pepper's..., and it went like 'whoosh'... the untying of the wings. Before I could even think of flying, I had been flown, and that was by The Beatles.
I am The Beatles fan, and I will always be one. They have been as much part of me as I have been part of them. I am the notorious 'fifth Beatle'... but then again, who isn't? You tell me!


2013.


Рецензии