The pair in the subway

I was going by the subway recently…

You know, I like to go by a subway and by an electric train to watch for people. If you will not be standing or sitting, renouncing from everybody like everybody does it, and you will be able to get rid of yourself, to get the eyes and ear of your soul, you could see and hear a lot of interesting things.

I was going by the subway recently… I looked that a pair came. He and she. They were happy, they were kissing… I saw only him, but she was standing with her back to me.
My sight was drawn by his eyes. They were wonderful, so expressive so only a girl could have, with the long eyelashes.

“May be, she was drawn just then, she fell in love just with them…” I thought involuntarily.

He had the wonderful smile. I was looking at it with delight… It was the happy smile of loving man. There was the children’s cleanness and enthusiasm in it. He bent to her face and kissed her all time…gently, lightly, with the delight, in passing… Time and again he was touching her face like children touch to an ice-cream to lick the sweet surface.

“Oh, why I can’t like him now?” I thought with envy and felt a shame of it. No, not even shame I felt. Just sadness…

But I was plunged in contemplate this pair again not to be bound by this thought. More precisely I saw only the guy’s face. He was kissing her so beautifully that I was admiring them. I can watch such a beauty very seldom. It smells of vulgarity usually: this public kissing has nothing except the animal magnetism with a game…

“This guy doesn’t thus. He is loving really.” I thought.

I took interest: “Why he has been loving her?”

“And what is about her?” I wished to see her eyes. And my new wishing became a reality: she turned to the window and I saw her profile. Only the profile… But there was so much in it.
Her face was so adult so his face was childish. It was difficult to determine she was older or younger than him. There was so much the maturity inside her that I was shuddered involuntarily when I imagined what this girl had been watching from the very childhood that she had become adult so early.  I was looking the woman was bent by her everyday worries about somebody near and defenseless… I saw this tiredness in the worried crease between her eyebrows. It was the faint print, but I saw it very well.

The commonness had swallowed her so much that even this heavenly period of love couldn’t take her from daily life.
I thought, “How long they could heave this fairy tale? Some day they will be sated all of it and this tenderness will leave them.”

I imagined brightly this pair ten years late.

I saw my inside eyes how quickly they will be swallowed this greedy commonness…

When I understood how quickly the beauty leaves I became sorrowful…

I became more sad when I remembered that I envied them one minute ago…

“Why I was envying?  All of this was so dusty and fleeting that was not merited such sufferings…” I thought. And the pictures of family scenes and pinching oneself for something began to turn in front of my eyes. I remembered a lot of man’s duty in respect of woman like pay for this beauty, like pay for the right to kiss.


Оригинал на русском языке: http://www.proza.ru/2012/12/26/660


Рецензии
На это произведение написаны 3 рецензии, здесь отображается последняя, остальные - в полном списке.