Parting for long

Переклад англійською Андрій Євса
Translated by Andrey Yevsa

Our uncle Mykyta was moving to a new place of residence somewhere in  far Zeleny Klyn. All his relatives, adults and children, came together to tell him goodbye.
Uncle Mykyta said:
“Look at your uncle, children, maybe you see him now for the last time in your life.”
People began to divert him from such thoughts, saying:
“Men may meet but mountains never greet as the proverb says.”
 I was a curious boy and asked my mother:
“Why do they say that?”
“You know, son, people usually say that if they depart for a long time.”
I did not forget that.
One morning I jumped out of bed, took a piece of bread and was about to rush out of the house.
“Where are you going to run away so early?” mum asked. “You will not be seen till the evening.”
Being already on the threshold I blurted out:
     “Don’t be grieved, mum. Men may meet but mountains never greet…” 
           ------------------------------------


Рецензии