Sleeping Sun

Она стояла на перроне и ждала свой час.
Но ожидание немного затянулось... сном томления.
_________
_________

“No more sleep.” She told me. “No more sleep.”
I didn’t know what she meant by then. It’s clear, now.

At first, we decided to see less of each other. Still, the urge towards our warmth was overwhelming. We kept meeting. We kept rumpling the sheets. Two bottles of wine. Found them empty at the morning, always. And we never got to remember, when we fell to sleep. If we fell to sleep, or did we?

We weren’t meant to meet, at the first place. She was waiting for another guy, smoking hundreds, as I remember, at the station. He was late, she thought. But it looked like, he’s not coming.
She was wearing a dress, the one you’d wear to a theater or something. And her hair were made up, so that one should see her thin and pale neck, a perfect tease or treat for a midnight vampire.
Electric trains were passing by. People got off. She searched for someone in the crowd, but she never found him. There was a mole on her cheek, I liked. Then, at some point, I was standing beside her.
She showed me her eyes.
“Can I help you with anything?”
I was confused.
“Not exactly. Just… mind if I stand nearby?”
She was smiling, but sadly.
“Why would you?”
“I…” Never felt that numb before. “I can’t help see a woman that beautiful sad…”

There was silence. We stood on the station and waited for someone, together. Never looked at each other, for hours. Until the last train left away. Then, she took my hand.
“Would you walk me back? It’s late.”
I nodded. This is when our sleeping nights began.

Some days after we met I would ask her.
“Who was the one you were waiting for back on the station?”
She would never reply.

We would rise in the morning. Two empty bottles of wine. Rumbled sheets. Faint bodies. Like if we never were asleep. Night after night, and my body grew weaker. I felt, she was weakening, too.
This is when she suggested.
“Maybe, we need some schedule. You know…”
And we thought of a schedule. But we couldn’t stick to it at all.

Then she implied.
“What if we change the time? Trade night for day…”
But, during the day, it was so complicated, always. And too bright. Sometimes it even seemed that there is no one there, on the sheets, thus, pale and white she was beneath the sun. Bad, she didn’t have curtains.
I asked her, once…
“Why don’t you put some curtains on?”
She smiled.
“I want my Sun to envy.”

That was a rainy day, back then, when we met at the station. She was so pale, that glaring, shining through the men of umbrellas and coats. She didn’t seem to like the weather. Though, her head was uncovered, the dress was getting all soaked up, but she wouldn’t seek for a shelter.

I enjoyed the weather wet and grey. Therefore, it started to get harder and harder to meet her during the daylight, when her sun was watching.
She sensed it, and she asked.
“What do you feel? Is it burning?”
I agreed.
“It is. And I can’t see you properly…” Even when I put sunglasses on.
She took my hand.
“Then… no more sleep, again. No more sleep.”

I didn’t know what she meant by then. It’s clear, now.

She asked me, If I’d stay the night. Two bottles of wine. The terrace of her house of glass. Didn’t rumble the sheets. We just sat there until the sun rising, wordless, like at that time we had met.
With the first rays of sun the rain started. Just like at the station, back then.

When I looked at her, she lost the glare. Her neck, not that pale as before. But before I could do anything, she took my hand and whispered calmly.
“I was waiting for my Sun. There, at the station. I was lost within the rain… then you…”
I held her hand and watched her graying.
“…then you… you helped me to shine longer. Thank you.”
Drop by drop her shine has gone away.
_________

The daughter of the Sun slept peaceful
On the 29th day of the moon.


Рецензии