Open letter to the President of the United States

President of the United States of America, Mr. Barack Obama.

Copy to:

Russian Federation President Vladimir Putin.

Federal President of Germany Joachim Gauck.

French President Francois Hollande.

Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland David Cameron.

Premier of the State Council Li Keqiang.

Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.

President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko.

In a joint editorial RBC Chief editor - Elizabeth Ossetia.

To the Editor of New York Times.

 

Dear President of the United States of America, Mr. Barack Obama.

 

My name IS Oleg Orlov. I am Russian citizen, and I love my country.

It happened that I lived not only in Russia. I lived in Kazakhstan for 14 years, in Estonia – for 3 years, 1 year in the US and about half a year in Denmark. Living in other countries, I was filled in with respect for every culture and nation to which destiny brought me. Communicating with ordinary Americans I did not see that we were so much unlike each other. There are differences imposed by culture, education, habitat. But you also love, jealous, wish, seek, betray, cry and help the same way we do. I did not see any "deep differences". Visiting America, I saw a lot of things deserving respect - beautiful bridges built with your hands, houses, cities, airports, vehicles. You are skillful nation. It's true.

When the disaster happened on the 11th of September 11, I donated $ 200 to help the victims of that tragedy. At that time was significant amount of money for me.

Now I am very sad to see that you (the president of such a large and progressive country) initiate the suppression of my country, the economic blockade and the collapse of our economy. Maybe you do not like our president, I can understand that. But we have chosen him and he deservedly well respected in our country. "Olympic Miracle" is one of things worthy to respect for.

I know that you are believer of Protestant religion, and I want to remind you one of the commandments - And why do you see the speck in your brother's eye, and do not see the brim in your own eye?

I ask you to look at your own country and the problems you have inside. Wanting to destroy someone else's economy, you can ruin your own economy - it's law. Look at your budget deficit which is 483 billion dollars. This economic blockade destabilizes not only our economy but also the economy of the United States and other countries. Take pity to your people as they do not deserve to live through new economic shocks.

Trying to plunge an economy of a foreign country into the chaos, you can harm your own economy and the economy of other countries.

 

I am 48 years old. I lived in time of a cold war between our countries - it brought no good. I ask you to focus the efforts on restoration  of good relations between our countries. Please help to restore good relations between Russia and Ukraine, as for many Russians, Ukraine is a country of origin. Sit down at the negotiating table, show wisdom and foresight, and it will be a victory of rationality and the principles that underlie the founstion of the United States.

I understand that in terms of the general rules and regulations Russia made an action that was not correct, but it was already done. Now while destroying each other, we can not achieve peace and prosperity! I hope and pray that my message will be heard in spite of any unbelief!

Best regards,  Oleg  Orlov.


Рецензии