Deal

- Let's make the deal.
- They killed a little girl, Nick.
- It's an imperfect system.
- And we its imperfect servants.
- However you could win this case.
- No, can't take that chance.
- Some justice is better than no justice at all. You need to tell the husband.
- Okay. That's part of my job.
- Good, because he's waiting for you right now.
- What?... How are you doing?
- Good. How are you doing?
- Good. Sit. Sit.
- I was gonna talk to you about something. Do you trust me? Do you trust me, Clyde?
- Yeah, of course.
- Darby has agreed to testify against Ames. With Darby's testimony, Ames will go to death row. 
- Um, what about- what about Darby then?
- Darby will plead guilty to murder.
- In what degree?
- Third.
- He serves, what?
- Five years...
- at best? I don't understand.
- I'm sorry. We can lose. And then we'd have nothing. You will waste a whole year, spend millions of dollars, and then both of them could
end up going free.
- Please don't make a deal with this man. He's a monster-
- I'm sorry, the deal is done. This is just how the justice system works. Listen, I know you don't think it right now, but this is a victory for us.

- Are you trying to save me now, Nick?
- I'm giving you a way out. Big difference. Stand up for those principles you've been preaching. See, we're all held accountable, Clyde. That includes you. Why don't we do the right thing here?
- I'm doing the right thing, Nick. You just have to see it that way.
- By murdering all those people, all you're doing is destroying the memory of your daughter and causing the same pain
that you're suffering from. 
- So what do you suggest, Nick? Make another deal? One final offer? Is that what it is?
- I don't make deals with murderers anymore, Clyde. You taught me that.
- Finally.
- Well done.
- Bravo. Maybe I wasn't such a bad teacher after all.
- If you go through with this, Clyde, it's a decision you'll have to live with
for the rest of your life.
- I'm sorry, Nick.
- Me too.


Рецензии