Новый год. This is the New Year

На часах 3.20 ночи. Прохлада кровати обволакивает тело,  я согреваюсь, но сон не приходит. Почему? Вроде нет усталости, напряжения или чего-то еще.  Я сижу около елки, рассматривая украшения и замечая мельчайшие детали – у старой советской игрушки откололся кусочек, мишура не полностью прикрывает ножки елки, у шарика вмятина на боку. Сама елка сияет цветными огоньками – красными, синими и зелеными. Волшебное зрелище, но новогоднего настроения почему - то нет. Смотрю на экран телефона, и вижу свое отражение – темные каштановые волосы растрепанны, голубые, почти синие глаза устало глядят на меня с отражения. Убираю телефон в карман свободных штанов, и глубоко вздыхаю.

Время 4.10. Лежу, уставившись в потолок, и водя пальцем по кровати, а сон все не идет. Мне это надоедает, я встаю, иду на кухню и наливаю себе кружку слабого чая. За окном темно, но я различаю очертания домов и силуэты случайных прохожих. Сажусь на просторный подоконник, обитый подушками, укрываюсь одеялом, притягивая ноги к животу, и отхлебываю чаю. Чувствую, как  теплый напиток развивается по горлу, даря блаженное тепло. За окном безжизненная, пустая улица. Машин нет даже на парковке. Все буквально дышит тишиной и умиротворением.  Глубоко вдыхаю  и тру глаза. В голове пусто, нет ни одной мысли. Я снова глубоко вдыхаю и отгоняю лишние мысли, очищая свой разум от всего ненужного.

На часах 5:10 утра. От скуки включаю компьютер, забиваю в поисковой строке: «Комедия» и  выбираю первый понравившийся фильм, но через 10 минут просмотра выключаю - попалась какая-то американская телемуть. Я иду на кухню, и на этот раз, делаю себе бутерброды с сыром и колбасой, сажусь на кровать и начинаю есть.  Из-за окна доносится звуки музыки, видимо из клуба. В голове возникает безумная мысль, и от недосыпа, я решаю ее осуществить. Сажусь за стол, достаю чистый лист бумаги и начинаю писать письмо Деду Морозу. Скорее даже не письмо, а планы на ближайший год, которые, постаравшись, я без проблем смогу осуществить. Затем ложу его в конверт, и ложу под елку.

Светает. Я лежу в кровати, вставив наушники и включив первую попавшуюся музыку. Бросаю долгий взгляд на часы - 6:35 . Уже утра. Через 2 часа нужно уходить. Устало потираю глаз, сосредотачиваюсь на музыке, и передо  мной начинают мелькать блики, в какой – то момент кажется, что около елки возникает свечение, я слегка улыбаюсь, в голове густеет туман, и я, счастливый, проваливаюсь в долгожданный сон.



3.20 a.m. is on the clock. The coolness of bed is covering the body, I’m warming, but the sleep doesn’t come. Why? I’m not tired, there’s no tension or something else. I get up and sit next to the Christmas tree, observing the toys and noticing small details - old Soviet toy is missing its piece, tinsel is not completely covering the tree’s legs, there is a small dent in the red ball. The tree itself is glowing with red, blue and green lights, and in the middle of the tree, there is a recently bought toy – tiny pig, a symbol of the upcoming year.  It’s a magical scene, but it doesn’t create the Christmas mood at all. I’m having a look at my reflection at phone’s screen –brown hair, dark blue eyes are looking at me. After putting the phone to the pocket of loose pans, I take a deep breath again.

It’s 4.10 a.m. I’m lying and starring at the ceiling. Having put the hand the head, but sleep don’t come easy. This estate is annoying me, and I’m standing up, going to the kitchen and making a coup of light green tea. It’s dark outside, but I can see the shapes of houses and accidental bystanders in the window. I sit on the huge windowsill, filled with pillows, cover myself with a blanket, pulling my legs to the stomach, and take a gulp of tea. I can feel the warm drink pouring down my throat, giving a pleasant feeling of warmth. Outside the window, there is an empty calm street. The cars are absent, even in the parking lot. Everything is literally breathing with peace and tranquility. I rub eyes. My head is empty, not a single thought crosses my mind. Having taken a deep breath, I try to clear my body of all unnecessary tension.

The clock shows 5.10 a.m. Because of the boredom, I turn on the computer and type “Comedy” in the search line and choose the first film in the advised category. In 10 minutes, I turn it off - the movie appeared to be an ordinary American comedy. I go to the kitchen, and this time, I’m making two sandwiches with cheese and ham, sit down on the bed and start eating. All of a sudden, a crazy thought comes to my tired mind, but due to the lack of sleep apparently, I’m making a decision to realize it. I sit down at the table, take out a blank paper sheet and begin to write a letter to Santa Claus. Not even a letter, but plans for the upcoming year, which I can easily manage to accomplish. Then, I put it in an envelope, and place it under the tree.

It’s getting lighter. I’m lying in the bed, having put the headphones and turned my favorite playlist. I’m having a long look at the clock – 6.35. It’s almost morning, and in 2 hours, I have to leave. I’m rubbing my reddish eyes again, focusing on the music, and I can literally see the glare.  At some point, it seems to me that the Christmas tree starts to have some strange luminescence, being radiated from the twinkle lights. I smile slightly, the mist in my head thickens, and I finally fall asleep.


Рецензии