The Last Roadkill

The Last Roadkill
What is interesting ‘bout travelling across the country by car? Sometimes it’s the best way to look for the sightseeing you have read in a newspaper. But for few people it’s the only way to save they relationship damaged by the merciless time, nerves, and stress. People are used to have “this last chance”, they just want to have some exciting moments in their life.
The deserted highway near Jackson was red hot since the early sunrise, even the air was jelly-like and windless. People, animals, plants – everything alive has  hidden from the hot, yellow – white sun, which was trying to burn up all around. But suddenly there was a car on the road – the old station wagon with the white camper behind. Coming out of nowhere, it approached the sign “Will’s Rancho – 50 miles” before getting completely lost behind the U-turn.
They have been on the road for 10 days, but they still didn’t know, where and when their trip will end. Being married for one and a half years, they have already felt hated each other many times. Whoever knows, why they got married in the first place that sunny day on September 28? It’s just an old tradition, just like going to the priest or voting for the president. He looked at her, and he suddenly recalled their old life together. They used to be a perfect couple then, used to go to the cinema or go out for a big party with their friends. “What the hell happened to us?” – he asked himself, but he couldn’t answer this difficult question. He looked at her face again – tired of this travel and tanned - and suddenly realized: that’s the real her, not the girl he met 3 years ago at the house party. Now she is just another housewife, who prefers to sit on the sofa and to watch another shitty TV show. And what about him? He has changed a lot, but not in a good way. That’s all his job – working as a clerk in a big bank, he finally got tired of this lifestyle. Getting up early in the morning every day, he had a light breakfast. kissed his wife goodbye and went to work. His boss said, that he wasn’t the best manager, though very talented and ambitious. He’s been working for 5 years and now his time has come – he wasn’t certain if he would be able to work for this bank any longer.
- Darling, what’re you thinking about? – she asked him suddenly. He thought for a short time and then finally said:
- Well, you know, it’s time to think ‘bout our relationship and our life. I wish we could change it all, and everything depends on us now.
- Change what? Are you crazy? – she suddenly half-rised from her seat and looked at him with big eyes.
- I’m tired of this everyday routine. Say whatever you want, but I just can’t live this kind of  life anymore. 
- Gosh, why ‘re you telling it to me? Talk to your boss, he’ll solve the problem. Or just change your job – she said anxiously and took a long cigarette out of the pack. He looked at her and marked in his mind: that’s the way life goes on – cigarette by cigarette. She looked at him and said anxiously: 
- What the hell is going on? You always told me, you’ve dreamed about good career and high salary. Why have you decided to give it all up?
- Because I’m fucking tired of my shitty life! – his voice exploded like a pack of dynamite. She looked at him, shrugged her shoulders and said:
- Well, you might’ve told me about it at home. I’m not a machine, I would understood you.
- I might have, but when? Every time I returned home, early or late, you were always watching your shitty show or were talking to your friends. And that’s you, who used to care about me me and got interested about my life?
He suddenly saw her crying louder and louder. Of course, he has hurt her feelings, but what was wrong? He just said all the truth about her. Ah, these women, they are always crying in a difficult situation! She stopped crying and yelled at him:
- Yep, I’m a bad wife, so what? It was you who came to me and invited me to the dance. We had been living for two years before our marriage, so you had had enough time to get to know me. And now stop the car, I’m gonna to get off!
She pushed the tumbler and tried to open the door, but the speed was too high. Having seen it, he locked all doors, took her left arm and dragged. She tried to resist, even bite his hand, but finally relaxed being slapped. He shouted angrily:
- Okay, that’s enough, relax! I can lose control of the car, and then we’ll be crashed. Is that what you want to happen?
She hasn’t moved paralyzed by his words. The have driven next five miles without any word, then she finally looked at him and said:
- You know, you are right. I’ve never thought about my relatives including you. Back in the days, seven years ago, I lost my younger brother. That day he stayed in the kitchen and I was talking on the phone with my boyfriend. When I came back I suddenly saw my brother lying breathless on the floor. He tried to eat the plastic spoon I left on the table and choked. This was awful, you know.
- Yep, babe. But people always have another chance to change, don’t t they? I think, we should start our life over. – he embraced her heartily. She thought for a short time, nodded attentively and said:
- Yep, I agree.
- Alright, let’s play some music because I can’t find any radio wave – he bended trying to find some CDs in the case, but suddenly lost control and they found themselves on the oncoming lane where a big tractor unit moved. The driver tried to avoid the accident, but failed. The last thing the young couple saw was the shiny chromed grille – it was like a light in their dark life…


Рецензии