Angel Come

- An Angel come to see you.

- Speak English. You're in England.

- This is not England, it's Limbo.

- You fool, England is Limbo for the poor sinner. See him in.

- Please come in, sir.

- Are you an Angel?

- Of course not. I am Death.

- I was told an Angel was there to see me. He never gets anything right. You must leave at once.

- No, I won't. I come to stay. You go.

- Me... I?

- Yes, of course.

- You can't be the Death of me.

- Why not?

- Death does not speak.

- What have I been doing here, then, if not speaking? Please hurry up, sir. I haven't got all day. Take your things, and let's get a move on.

- I say, aren't you too colloquial for such a solemn, breath-taking business as this?

- You can file in a complaint.

- As soon as I get there, I certainly will.

- It is a twopence.

- What's that?

- Two pennies. A penny an eye. Very cheap. And you get a discount the next time.

- What do you mean, the next time?

- Oh, pretty soon. Life is short, death is shorter still. It's the shortest experience of all. Money up, body down. And, back to life.

- Why not charge more? I know of people who would pay more, they love death.

- It's a fixed price affair. Because it's a refund, actually.

- A what?

- Well, some very important folks I dare not name, give a threepence for everyone born unto this world. One red penny covers the expenses. Two pennies we get. Then we pay back. It's a fair game. Here we are, sir. You are dead. I wish you a very good time, and a blah-blah-blah, and blah-blah-blah, sir. No, sir, you can't speak. You will, when you return to life. You can't speak, you wont' see, and in a little while needed for technical purposes, you won't hear anything either. This is it. One on the coffin, Mike.

(- Got it.)


3 мая 2017 г.


Рецензии