Ninork. 11

11.

She was burning. He woke up in the middle of the night, because sheets were wet from her sweat. He lifted his head.  Still dark outside. Even darker inside of the Yurt.
He could feel, how Feather’s body was trembling, so bad, that he could hear her teeth clanking against each other. She was breathing very hard.
- Feather. – He touched her slightly. Her eyes were open widely, but she looked directly through him, as if he wasn’t there. He could hear her whispering something… One word… She was repeating it, like as if she was trying to make sure, that she will not forget, what she was saying:
- - Languedoc.. Languedoc…
He had no idea, what the meaning of this word. He knew, that he had to do something, but what? Who to ask for help?
Only thing he could do – is to keep her calm, put cold compress on her forehead, hold her in his arms, rocking, like mother would rock child. Wish he know some lullaby, so he could sing to her. But he did not know any.. His mother never sing to him. Never.
After a while, she fall asleep. Still burning, but not as bad as before. He laid next to her, holding her tight, feeling bad, that nothing else he could do to help.

When he finally woke up – she was gone. Like nothing even happened at night. He did not see her clothes anywhere. He call her name. No answer. What to do? To get dress and go look for her, or wait here?
While he was debated of what to do, someone open door of the Yurt.
- Feather! – He yelled with happiness.
But that was some man in the pea color wool coat, so long, that he could not see his legs, only robber boots were sticking out.
- This is for you. – Said stranger, giving him a folded piece of paper. – She wanted to make sure, that I give it to your hands directly. She is fine. You can stay here as long as you want. We will bring food to you.
Ninork waited, until man left.
“ Ninork, sorry. I had to go. My friends will take care of you. It worries me, that I already brought so many bad things into your life. We better stay a part. Do not try to find me please. Be careful. I will miss you.”
And that is it. Nothing else, no explanations.
- Who the hell is Languedoc? – Said he loud, angrily throwing note away.
Minute later he pick it up from the floor, folded and put in the pocket of his coat. After all, that was only thing he had left from her. This short note and that weird word. Languedoc.

*************************
Same stranger, who brought him message from Feather, eventually agreed to give him a lift to town. Couple blocks from his home, he shook strangers hand and got out of the car.
Instead of going directly home, he stood on opposite side of the street, watching everyone, who passed by. Everything looked normal, no one suspicious was hanging around, or smoking cigarettes on the corner, no people in grey trying to look average, and yet.. He could feel cold on his spine. Some inner voice told him not to go there. Do not go home.  And he didn’t. He turned around and went down the street. He went to see his doctor. Domenic Verde. Psychiatrist. Only person he could trust.

 Two man were sitting against each other. No one was saying a word. Doctor Domenic was first to brake silence:
- Very interesting. Could be a good material for my next book. Okay, okay, just kidding you!  Now we need to figure out what to do with you. I am pretty sure, people who was following both of you, were some serious people and do not like to jock around. I have to say, I kind of like that juggler guy! Quite a colorful character!
- - Domenic! – Ninork was tired, depressed and worried sick about Feather’s disappearance. – She had a  fever! I must find her, but have no idea, where to start.
- No. First thing first. I have to situate you. You will stay at one of my apartments. One of the tenants just moved. It is small, but not that far from here. I am sure those people, who were after her, are trying to find you too. Do not call to work. Look like they are powerful people and they may already collected enough information about your contacts. I hope I am not on their list!
- - My secretary aware, that I will be gone few more days. I lost my phone somehow.
- I am glad you did, otherwise, they already be here. I will get you another paid phone, but now – I will take you to apartment.  It furnished. Stay there and do not go anywhere. I will visit you later and bring you some food and other things. There, take this my last book I wrote. Hope, my mystery story will keep your mind away from your own. At least for now.
- By the way, what is Languedoc?
- Some dialect.. Not sure what kind, but I will look it up.


Рецензии