Genius Citi

Genius Citi
by Val Belin & Gary Bartz
 
Single

00:00 / 10:20
Digital Track
Streaming + Download
Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
Buy Now   $1.11 USD  or more
Send as Gift
about
Val Belin - guitar, composition
Gary Bartz - sax
Gregory Voskoboynik - double-bass
Sergei Ostroumov - drums
lyrics
In April of 1999 happened another International Jazz Fest "Spring Jazz" held by JFC Jazz-club in St. Petersburg. Club manager Felix Naroditsky asked me to meet one of the participants at the airport Pulkovo. It wasn't enough cars, no time to wait and no English translators - I agreed. It was the first time I was absent in the team of the festival participants, but I've must to meet not known in Russia outstanding American saxophonist Gary Bartz. For me it was a unique opportunity just to talk with alive musician on the level of legendary John Coltrane, a person who shared the stage with Miles Davis — a chance to smell the atmosphere of the highest category of jazz professionals.
When we got in the car (in my blues-mobile, seeing many of special guests) Gary asked about my interest in music, seeing my knowledge of the subject. He liked my stories, and he shared his doubts about why he didn't know with whom to play. He said, - I want to invite you to play together. I suggest you to find rhythm section by your choice. I could not believe it - I got in to the list of St.Petersburg Jazz festival not as the ordinary participant, but in alliance with the famous jazz musician, who performed at the festival Isle of White in project of Miles Davis. During the concert in the JFC our performance has been recorded, defining the style of my music for many years.
credits
released October 28, 2016
BSoundNetwork1999
tags
tags: blues jazz apocalyptic ballad multi-directional New York
license
all rights reserved


Рецензии