The Martian Mission

                The welcoming speech delivered by the project sponsor

My dear candidates,

To begin with, I would like to thank you all for having volunteered to take part in this contest, regardless of the reasons motivating you to do so. You have all passed the pre-qualification procedures and, at this stage, should already be familiar with the objectives and basic conditions of the mission that is destined to become the most daring and unprecedented enterprise ever undertaken by mankind. These objectives and conditions are all set forth in detail on the company’s website and are publicly accessible. I feel that I have to apologize to all of you for the long and tiring multi-phase competition you have to go through, as well as apologize to those who will not make it to the very top. However, it doesn’t mean someone is not needed, because as soon as we are through with the contest, we will invite all the candidates to apply for lots of very attractive jobs in numerous support services we are going to establish. No one is perfect, but what we are trying to do is to select the best of the best, who, once selected, will have the honor to become members of the very first manned interplanetary mission representing people from all walks of life, citizens of the United States.

My dear fellow Americans! I pray to God that he should help me find the right words to convey my thoughts and feelings straight to your hearts. This project is my long-coveted childish dream, my long-awaited baby. I realize that, being one of richest persons in the world, I can now afford it and, hopefully, see it coming true. I am sure that I am not the only person on the Earth populated with over 7 billion humans who had the idea I am intending to implement, with your assistance. I don’t expect it to bring any profit to me or my family members, but I am absolutely convinced that all of us, all people inhabiting this planet, deserve a better and safer future for many generations to come, something that can only be achieved if today we begin to plan ahead for centuries, instead of months or years. I sincerely hope that you will become my allies, not just employees. We must be co-workers, we must be colleagues, we must be enthusiasts. I really don’t believe that any other kind of relationship could ever make this enterprise a success.

We are about to launch probably the most important mission since the discovery and colonization of the American continent, the birthplace of the country thanks to which this mission eventually became feasible. Just like the fearless Mayflower settlers some four hundred years ago, twenty astronauts, ten newly married couples will go to Mars to set up a colony there, with little hope of ever coming back to Earth. The tasks, dangers, and challenges they have to face and to cope with are enormous. The responsibility and role of each astronaut’s input in the mission is just as huge. Amid the harsh Martian environment, they will have to build the first inhabitable modules, underground storages, greenhouse areas, and a spaceport to receive spaceships and materials, as well as more astronauts who will join them later on. I wish I could be one of those pioneers, but unfortunately, first, I am too old, and, second, I will have to stay here to manage the project’s support, logistics and financing.

I feel that it is my duty to give this world a second chance - the best of the charity projects one could ever think of. This is our very first step in this direction. Overpopulation, environmental problems, disease, poverty, aggressive regimes brandishing nuclear weapons, extraterrestrial risks – they are all capable of destroying, at any moment, our civilization and our tiny Planet Earth many times over. One day, our new Martian colony may become the only hope and, who knows, the only refuge for the chosen few who will make sure our values and our democracy should survive. We are standing at the cradle of a better world free from hostility, theft, slander, and militarism.

God bless you!
God bless America!


Рецензии