The Gypsy Baron

... The Echo from the past...

Once upon a time, when I was 21 years old, we "played" with a girlfriend near an open window in the spring…

Suddenly, my upper back and head hurt, and I went to the doctor, who put me in the hospital (*old TASHMI) to diagnose pneumonia. But, high temperature, I had to need an IV urgently. There were no IVs in the hospital (!)

My close friend, Anya, somehow and somewhere finds it and brings it to the hospital.

Now I will leave the main topic for a bit and write about Anya.
We worked in the same factory but in different departments. At 20, I became a quartz watch repair shop manager, which served the entire city of Tashkent. I had five men in the brigade, four of them old enough to be my father.

The company I worked in had its recreation area outside the city.
So one summer, we gathered a group of three buses and went on vacation. That's where I met Anya under unusual circumstances.

I came with a girlfriend. She worked with me. We argued (our relationship was already in the state to fail), and I went outside smoke, and forever from my relationship with her.

Outside I see another girl (!) sitting. We chatted. I learned she is from the same company but works in another department on a different city side.

I do not remember whether she was with her husband or with her husband's friends. They too argued, after which she went outside “to get some air,” and that is how we met.

As you guessed probably, her name was Anya.

Anya was older than me, very kind, and I notice that two opposites of the characters fit at once in her, a modest, shy, energetic, and strong-minded girl, as people would say, “do not mess with this girl.”

The next day, because I was so heartbroken from breaking up with my girlfriend, Anya invited me to a group of people with whom she came. We made **pilaf, ate, drank a little, and chatted about this and that.

I noticed that one person from Anna's group was reacting to my conversations with her inadequately, and in short, something like a treat went out in discussion with this person. Still, the event did not have time to unfold because we were there for only two days.

With Anya, we exchange phones and start calling each other.

A few days later, in the evening after finishing work, I saw the same two people who ate pilaf with me in the recreation area, standing on the opposite side of the road.

They were waiting for me.

Here I will not go into details. Of course, this was a misunderstanding, but Anya had to take me home twice, in the taxi:

– So that the child (me) would not be offended anyhow. She said.

After this incident, I understood what people I was dealing with and then went to my uncle (I called him the "Godfather" of the city).

I tell him the story, names, and what happened. Then, he looked at me with a warm smile and said,

– Igor, you can not meet the girl without causing the problem, don't you?!

– Do not worry, and everything will be fine.

Please allow me to write a few words about my uncle (Hanan, my father's older brother)? He was a very strong-minded, caring, and wise man, been in World War two, left without parents (they pass away early), so he had to take care of the younger brother (my father) and sisters, and he even sends them help from the war zone.

He is a good investor who could make money from the "air," not greedy but calculating. He could never sit down to eat alone. If he cooked something and no one was at home, he went outside, called someone from the neighbors or those who knew him, and invited them to eat with him.
Many people knew him, and he was a "person of respect."

It would seem that such a person should have a personal driver, but he rode a bicycle. I learned a lot from him: kindness, empathy, caring for someone, but not how to make money.

No one was "waiting" for me after work the next day.

Soon, after arriving from the recreation area, I met Marina (yes, the one with whom I played near the window and got pneumonia).

Here is the story about how I met Marina: http://proza.ru/2019/08/10/150

Anya and I became very close friends, like family. We called each other often. She came to visit Marina and me, walks in the door, and says:

– Igor, downstairs, there is a taxi waiting, take everything from the trunk.

I go down, and the trunk there is felled with three-liter cans of various salads, which she prepares herself and brings for me.

Calmly and in a friendly manner, she could say to Marina:

– Marina, please make sure that Igor doesn't go to bed hungry, understood?!.

For a long time, I left the story's main topic but "drank" a very emotional "cocktail."

On the same day, Anya quickly found imported IVS. Even the doctors in the hospital were surprised. The next day, I woke up with severe pain in my testicles, so stiff that I could not straighten up and hardly walk.

They send me to the doctor. I go in, an old Uzbek sitting there, touched it, looked at it, and said, smiling:

– When was the last time? (I have sex, he meant to say)

I said:

– Three days ago.

He says:

– Need more.

I looked at him with a surprised face, and probably with an idiotic smile (and thinking, how the hell I will do it in the hospital?!) and he says with the smile, like read my mind:

– Think of something.

I come to my room and tell the other three patients (roommates) what the doctor said. They laughed enthusiastically and said:

– Well, there are no problems. Let's call a girlfriend.

In old buildings, to increase the number of beads, they made temporary “barriers.” It becomes a "room," but the “barriers” themselves did not reach the top of the ceiling, so sounds, creaks, and conversations from inside heard on the entire floor.

When Marina come, I quietly explained to her what we have to do. She certainly didn't expect it but didn't say "No."

Meanwhile, the three of my roommates closely watched my conversation with Marina. Immediately, with no signs from my side, realizing that it was time to leave, I amicably marched out of the room.

The next day, there was no pain.

Imagine my reaction the next day. While I was walking in the corridor, people looked at me and gave me their "cute" smiles.
There was another event this evening. I hear a noise, shouts, and the roommate says:

– Look, there are many Gypsys in the yard.

A Gypsy Baron brought in, there were no places to put him in, and the Gypsies threatened:

– If you don't take him, we will set hospital on fire.

To avoid any problem, the hospital admitted him and put him right next to my "room," he was unconscious and making gasping noises. I went to the door, looked, his body uncovered, on the body, lots of old knife scars, somewhere 5-6, on the entire chest and stomach, the wounds not sewn up, but somehow roughly healed.

This man probably had seen quite a lot in his life.

On this night, I got up to go to the bathroom. I don't know if it is because I stand up fast or was just weak, but when I reached the Gypsy's bed, I, like an "accordion," lost consciousness and fell on the floor.

After I opened my eyes, I realized I'm still on the floor, and I got up, and I don't know how long I passed out, went to the toilet, came back, and went to bed.
In the morning, they found the Gypsy Baron dead on the floor, in the same place where I fell.

I wish everyone lots of love and happiness! Let there be forces in your life that work miracles!

Igor M Isakov
––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
*Tashkent Med Institute (one of the central hospitals in the city)
**Almost authentic rice and lamb dish for a party from the heart of Middle Asia.
–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Цыганский Барон

… Прошлого строки…

Когда то давно, когда мне был 21 год, весной, поигрались мы с подругой возле открытого окна…

Вдруг, начала болеть верхняя часть спины и голова, короче положили в больницу (старый ТашМи), воспаление легких. Высокая температура, нужно было срочно делать капельницу, в больнице не было капельниц!

Тут моя близкая подруга, Аня…

Сейчас отойду от темы немного, хочу написать про Аню.

Работали мы с ней в одном комбинате, но в разных отделах.
В свои 20 лет, я стал бригадиром цеха по ремонту кварцевых часов, который обслуживал весь город Ташкент (и леваки с районов). У меня было пять человек в бригаде, четыре из них, годились мне в отцы...

У комбината, была своя зона отдыха за городом, и вот как то летом, набрав группу из трех автобусов, нас повезли отдыхать, там то я с Аней и познакомился.
Весьма при интересных обстоятельствах...

Тогда мне было 19 лет, приехал я с подругой, которая тоже работала вместе со мной, мы что то повздорили, (наши отношения, уже были обречены на развал).
Вышел я на площадку покурить, и одновременно, навсегда, “вышел” от своей подруги, расстроенный такой, смотрю сидит девочка…

Познакомились, начали болтать, узнал что она тоже с комбината, работает в другом отделе, здесь, (не помню точно) то ли с мужем, то ли друзьями ее мужа, они там тоже что то не поделили и она вышла “подышать воздухом”, как вы догадались наверно, ее звали Аня.

Аня была старше меня, необычно добрая. В ней, как бы укладывалось сразу две противоположности, скромная, стеснительная и одновременно энергичная и сильная духом девчонка, как говорится “палец в рот не клади”...

На следующий день, так как я такой весь расстроенный и с разбитым сердцем, Аня пригласила меня в компанию людей, с кем приехала.

Делали плов кушали, немного выпили, болтали о том о сем, и я стал замечать, что один из собеседников уже как бы не безразлично реагировал на мои разговоры с Аней…
И короче, что то намеки пошли, и все такое, но событие не успело развернуться, отдых был всего два дня, всех по автобусам и домой…

На следующий день, вечером выхожу с работы, смотрю те самые мужики, с кем кушал плов в зоне отдыха, стоят на противоположной стороне дороги…
Конечно это было недоразумение, но Ане, пришлось меня пару раз отвести домой на такси (чтоб ребенка не обидели ни за что, меня то есть)…

Потом я пошел к своему дяде, так мол и так, описал всех, сказал имена, он говорит “ты без приключений не можешь, да, иди не переживай, все будет хорошо”…

Не могу ни написать пару слов о своем дяде (Ханан, папин брат). Это был очень сильный духом человек, для человека который прожил не легкую жизнь, был на фронте, остался очень рано без родителей, с фронта присылал своим трем сестрам и брату питание и помощь, он был очень веселым, живым и мудрым. Он мог так красиво, без негатива и ругани объяснить человеку что он с ним не согласен и что тот, не прав, это надо было видеть...

Очень деловой, с воздуха мог делать деньги, не жадный но расчетливый. Никогда не мог сесть кушать один, сам себе готовил, даже если дома никого не было, он выходил на улицу, звал кого то из соседей или тех кто его знал и приглашал с ним покушать. А знали его многие, он был “авторитетом” относились к нему с уважением…
Казалось бы, такого человека как он, должен был возить личный шофер, но ездил он на велосипеде…

Я многому у него научился, добру, сочувствию, заботе о ком то, но вот как делать деньги, увы…

Меня, после работы больше никто не поджидал…

Совсем скоро, после приезда с зоны отдыха, познакомился с Мариной (да, с той самой, с которой игрался возле окна и заработал воспаление легких).

Тут рассказ как я познакомился с Мариной: http://proza.ru/2019/08/10/150

А с Аней мы стали очень близкими друзьями, как родные… Созванивались, встречались. Она приходила к нам с Мариной в гости, зайдет в дверь, и говорит, “иди, такси там внизу, возьми что в багажнике”. Спускаюсь, в багажнике трехлитровые банки, салатов разных, которые она сама и готовила…

Спокойно могла сказать Марине, “Ты смотри, чтоб он голодный спать не ложился, поняла?!”.

На долго отошел от темы, но “выпил” многообразный эмоциональный “коктейль”
Ну так вот, Аня в этот же день, быстренько, где то нашла импортные капельницы, врачи в больнице были удивлены…

На следующий день, просыпаюсь, сильная боль в семенниках, да так, что выпрямиться не мог и с трудом удавалось ходить…

Посылают к врачу на прием, захожу, сидит такой пожилой узбек, потрогал, посмотрел и улыбаясь говорит:

- кАгда последний раз бЫль?

Я говорю

- Три дня назад.

Он говорит:

- Надо еще.

Я так не понял, смотрю на него с удивлением, а он говорит:

- Придумай что нибудь.

Прихожу в палату, рассказал ребятам, что сказал доктор, а в палате у меня как в анекдоте, армянин, узбек и русский.

Они посмеялись от души конечно и говорят:

- Ну все, проблем нет, зови подругу.

В старых зданиях, чтобы не делать новые постройки, и увеличить количество мест, делали такие временные “заграждения” и получалась комната, но сами “заграждения” до потолка не доходили, и естественно, звуки, скрипы, разговоры, что происходили в палате, были слышны на весь этаж.

Приходит Марина, ну я ей тихо так объяснил, что к чему, она конечно не ожидала но долго уговаривать не пришлось…

Тем временем, те трое, что соседи по койке, внимательно следили за моей беседой с подругой, тут же, без каких либо знаков с моей стороны, поняв что время выходить, дружно, строем вышли из палаты…

Ну представляете наверно как потом было ходить по коридору, все так мило улыбались…

На следующий день, боли как не было…

Произошло еще одно событие, вечером слышу шум, крики. Сосед по койке говорит “Смотри полный двор цыган.”

Случилось вот что, привезли цыганского барона, мест куда его положить не было, цыгане стали угрожать:

- Если вы его не возьмете, мы подожжем все.

Положили его прям возле двери моей палаты, он был без сознания и издавал хрипы. Я подошел к двери, посмотрел на его тело (он был открыт), на теле были старые ножевые ранения, где то 5-6, на всю грудь и живот, но раны не были зашиты, а как то грубо, в ручную залечены.

Чувствовалось, человек видел не мало за свою жизнь…

Ночью, я встал в туалет, не знаю может резко встал или просто слабость, но дойдя до кровати цыгана я как бы гармошкой, потерял сознание и на пол…

Открываю глаза, на полу, встал, не знаю на сколько отключился, пошел в туалет, вернулся и лег спать.

Утром, цыгана нашли на полу мертвым, на том же месте где я упал раннее…

Всем Желаю Много Любви, Крепкого Здоровья, Счастья и Пребывания в Потоке!

Пусть с вами прибывают Силы, что творят Чудеса!

Игорь М Исаков


Рецензии