The Story of how Ilf and Petrov wrote The Twelve C

The Story of how Ilf and Petrov wrote "The Twelve Chairs"


Ilf and Petrov arrived at the port after a foreign business trip. "Why not see the city?»

Announcement: "SIMULTANEOUS CHESS GAME on 160 boards".

"This is curious!""Why not take a look?»

The surprised shouts sounded in "Kartonazhnik" club. The conflict was about to happen. 

The crowd crowded around the players.

- What are you fooling me...? If you give up, say me!

- Excuse me, comrades, I have all the moves recorded!

- Office writes.

- This is outrageous!

- Give up, give up, what kind of cat-and-mouse like that!

Ilf and Petrov took out their notebooks and wrote: "it was a moonlit evening."

- Hold the grand master! - from above was sliding. Persecutors ran, knocking on a wooden ladder as the falling bowling spheres.

- Here still hat! To me slightly the head was torn off, and I anything: it is vigorous and cheerful. And if to take fifty more rubles of net profit into account, then for one rumble on your head - the fee quite decent.

- Dudes! Why don't you beat your grand master? Did you, if I am not mistaken, want to beat me?

Ilf and Petrov added to their notebooks: "- You understand, ...an individuals, that I could drown you one by one, but I give you life. Live, citizens!»…


November 7, 2018 21:15


Translation from Russian into English: November 7, 2018 21:44.
Владимир Владимирович Залесский “Рассказ о том, как Ильф и Петров писали «Двенадцать стульев»”.


Рецензии