Mind Transformation 203

11694
I’ve come back to my usual routine. A short deprivation from reading turned out to be useful. Now my desire to read is much stronger, and I certainly get more from reading. Today I read three chapters. I’m going to use this page to describe what I’ve learned. The first chapter was called “Aversion, Avoidance, Anxiety.” So, aversive stimuli are those which influence an organism’s behavior evoking avoidance of preceding actions. Skinner calls it a “negative reinforcer.” The reinforcer produces anxiety and an organism, avoiding the reinforcer, eschews repeating previous actions. The reinforcer and punishment are the same things, and using them is quite effective in order to withdraw inappropriate actions. Of course, sometimes it might be questionable because of unpredictable consequences. There are so many by-products of punishment; thus, you have to be very careful. For example, if we take a look at using aversive stimuli as an element of language learning, in many cases it’s just don’t work. Saying to someone that he or she does something wrong or correct someone’s mistakes often leads to the situation in which one becomes frustrated, fearful, and prefers to be silent rather than to look like a fool. But why do I care about others; I can use this to make experiments on myself.

To the beginning: http://www.proza.ru/2018/03/10/1530
Next: http://www.proza.ru/2018/12/29/1115 


Рецензии