Contemporary Azerbaijani Literature Vahid Aziz Don

Contemporary Azerbaijani Literature Vahid Aziz Don”t Wish Me A Long Life


Vahid Aziz
Azerbaijan


Don"t Wish Me A Long Life

Don"t wish me a long life,
Don"t let the wind drive away me
like a fall leaf.
When I have a walking-stick in my hand,
I would like my heart to stop beating
even I'll be able to see everything...

Don"t tell me "Live to a ripe old age!"
May my smile, voice and legs never be lost.
I wouldn"t want to die before young people
and the ones who are more alive than me.

Don"t wish me "you live to be 100 years old."
What kind of flowers lives so long?
If everyone else your age passed away,
Why you want me to remain
with wolf till doomsday?

You"d better wish me a turbulent life,
like an ocean to the bitter end,
so that,
I can open the door in my own home
and I can roll down my own window...

Sometimes you propose a toast to me,
I don't want to be fragile,
I wouldn't like to mock at you, too.
Pray that God in His mercy will give me a life
that I can love and be loved forever.

And may fate look at me with love in his eyes;
Let him know I"m not a partner
to a share of others.
if I am no good to myself, and
I"m no good to anyone.

Don"t wish me "live to be 100 years old."
Let the dignity and good name never leave me.
Whatever you have, will remain in this world,
Let my life caravan will not be cursed.
Don"t wish me "you live to be 100 years old."
2008.
Translated by Kamran Nazirli

 


Рецензии