Brave Khas Bulat

Translation of Russian folk song "Brave Khas–Bulat" (Хас-Булат удалой)

“Listen, brave Khas–Bulat, your are poor, you are old,
I will give you my horse, I will drown you in gold.
Have my dagger and my riffle to your heart’s desire,
But for the riches unseen you give me your wife.

Wilted life she will have with gray haired man,
You will ruin her youth, leaving her in disdain.
She and I, we sat down under thick sycamore,
Below crescent moon, of her love she had swore.”

– Prince, you words are a waste, after you two I spied.
Last night you met up with my youthful wife.
Go head take a look at your sweet princess
She lays in my house with a dagger in her chest.

“I covered her eyes with tears so grim
I kissed her goodbye, on her rosy lips…”
Listen brave Khas–Bulat, you are poor, you are old,
I will give you my horse, I will drown you in gold.


Рецензии