Mind Transformation 419

419
Dickens ‘Personal History of David Copperfield,’ Physics Lec 07: Weightlessness in Free Fall, Weight in Orbit.
C – 5, d – 80.
s - 2, i - 2, M.
At last, I can say that I’ve finished reading this extraordinary big novel which took me about two months or so. Perhaps I must say something about the book now. Of course, it’s seems impossible to put down all my thoughts here on one page, though a kind of general impression certainly may be derived. At the end of the book I found myself being not so annoyed, as I mostly was while groping through the text, and the last hundred pages were swallowed for two days.
In the entire book I found no character I may resonate with, and even ‘great’ David’s losses seemed to me being exaggerated by Dickens’ sweety description. So the whole story looks as if it were one of those damn tv shows where thoughtless men and women play their stupid roles. Before taking this book I used to believe that Dickens was a kind of thinker who made his characters proclaim new ideas and develop themselves into great human beings. But my expectations were wrong and, instead of finding free spirits fighting against any boundaries, I saw only agreeable little girls, unconscious folk, and a good-hearted, na;ve, innocent fellow, who, moving from here to there, boards everybody with his cheap rhetoric and good-looking appearance.
Okay, the chief questions of the novel are probably ‘love,’ ‘friendship,’ ‘terrible circumstances,’ ‘honesty,’ ‘family,’ ‘sins,’ and many other superficial things like that which always deserve too much public attention. At the end of the day, I would say there were lots of feelings but almost no thoughts. I hardly saw a few pages of the author’s thinking. It resembled me drawing a picture rather than writing.

To the beginning: http://www.proza.ru/2018/03/10/1530
Next: http://www.proza.ru/2019/09/18/1626         


Рецензии