Lose till Monday

   The sun was slowly setting over the horizon when I entered the library. It seemed it was empty, but the quiet music was still on. He was standing there and gazing out of the window.
“Did she mention me at all?”
“I’m afraid, she didn’t.”
If someone had looked at this face at that moment, I swear they wouldn’t have ever understood what he had on his mind. Fortunately or unfortunately, I already knew what he was thinking about, but I tried not to focus my attention on such thoughts. Anyway, this time that wasn’t any of my business.

   I noticed a tiny piece of sunlight on his serious face. I was sure he had something to say and wanted to, but he said nothing more and when I finally thought that the conversation had ended, and turned away to the door, he unexpectedly asked: “You will come back, won’t you?”
I was lost for words, but this time I knew what exactly I ought to say. That is why I tried to stay calm and structure my sentences quickly in my head. I understood that I was ready to say what I needed to, but when I turned to face him, I found this man looking at me with the same interest as I had looked at him with many years ago. I remembered how I was afraid at that time to hear his answers to my old questions. Right now, I feel the same kind of fear floating around, but this fear wasn’t mine anymore. It was his.

   In his eyes, I have found one moment of truth, trust and something else. Something that I have never seen before, buried deep inside his beating heart. He expected my answer when someone knocked on the door and a servant came in with a tray of teacups and a small teapot. While she was walking to the tea table, I was wondering how his face has become cold again, with none of the previous emotions that I have discovered unexpectedly just several minutes ago. I heard an almighty crash like something had just broken. When I realized that nothing like this had actually happened and all this noise was just a figment of my imagination, I looked at him for the last time, turned round and left the room.         


Read more: www.stacyshystovska.blogspot.com


Рецензии