And I Want to Fly!

                And I Want to Fly!
Why don't people fly like birds? You know, sometimes it seems to me that I'm a bird. When you stand on a mountain, you are drawn to fly."
                - Alexander Ostrovsky, from the play “The Storm”
In my next story, I will share a personal story about what I experienced.
My song is about those troubled and difficult moments in my young life, which have to be moved.
The main topic today: breaking a body part.
25 years ago, my husband and I were going to a birthday party for one of the American women who worked with refugees, helped solve our problems, and helped us understand an unknown country.
As is the custom in the Russian community, I bought a very beautiful table clock from the store, which not only told the time, but also played a gentle melody. 
The clock was in a glass case and surrounded by little figurines dressed in luxury clothing. And every hour the figurines spun under the dial.
It was really cool and nice and made one feel a lot of joy!
I carried the table clock in one hand and a bottle of champagne in the other.
We prepared for the birthday party and were looking forward to having a wonderful time and communicating in Russian. We were tired of the unusual English.
But our family plans didn’t go as planned…
I briefly looked at the neighbor’s window, which also will go celebrating.
Next thing I knew, my leg was turned up! And I, with the full weight of my figure, fell down on the asphalt!
“What now?,” I thought to myself.“A cast!”
I raised both of my hands, and to my happiness, I didn’t break the clock or the champagne bottle!
Remember that I had already had a cast a few weeks  . With no medical insurance the surgeon did not take me…
But with the American’s lady help, we find for me a cheap program that helped pay for the doctors, and I was running on the right foot in another month.
There was a lot of laughter! And a lot of tears!
This reminded me of a joke about a new Russian.
The new Russian broke his arm. He goes to the doctor.
Doctor: You have a fracture. We must to give you a cast.
New Russian: Brother, why a cast? Put marble. I will pay!
You would think my guardian angel failed to warn me about my fall!
I think he tried to, but my stubbornness overpowered him.
After this accident, I already had two broken hands and fractures in my foot. I need to look where I step!
And my adventures continue!
And who is to blame?
This time I have the sun in my eyes when I walked on parking lot.           I wasn’t hindered by the sun.
I did not see my way in the parking lot.
And again: a fall, a break in the right hand, ambulance, bandage,           x-ray, and all the consequences…
For two weeks, I went to the orthopedist. The medical insurance paid for everything. It is possible to treat me after all!
At first the doctor asked me if I want to do an operation.
When I answered that I do not want it, he agreed with me. Apparently there was no need for surgery.
After a couple of weeks, the surgeon asked me the same question.
I showed him my hand and told him all the things I can’t do.
I can take care of myself, follow personal hygiene, etc.
And what I will never be able to do, I said that my children and grandchildren will do.
The doctor again sent me to have an x-ray after two weeks.
A nurse checks in on me in the room where I sit with my right hand taped and asks me which hip I have broken--left or right?
I almost fell out of my seat!
The nurse should have marked my right hand for the x-ray, but she wrote on the left hand! I had to explain.
That evening, our son called and asked how the visit to the doctor went.
My husband told him, “Mom will never be able to change the light bulbs of the chandelier.”
Our son smartly replied, “You have to give her a large wide ladder.”
My husband said, “Mom will fall with it.”
And here our son said, “You’ll make her sit and she will turn the light bulbs!”
Well, it isn’t funny!?
One of my favorite readers sent me this advice: Take care of your teeth from youth until deep age.
Unfortunately, I did not follow this advice and this time, I broke my front upper teeth!
I went to the dentist’s appointment and told him about my trouble.
And the nice doctor says, “This is still not scary. My aunt fell down and broke her two hands!”
Humor! Yes, please!


Рецензии