My big brother

He poured on me “Coca-Cola”. It was not the first time but now he shook the bottle and all became a lot of rusty-color foam that exploded from the bottle.  All my room covered in “Cola”. Everything became sweet and sticky.
I was scared to enter the home if I knew that he was there. I could be sure that it would be his next joke. Every time it was something that I couldn’t expect. A new trap – a rope loop that would tie on my leg or something falling on my head. Every time he would try something new. I didn’t know where he could find the next idea for his new trick. Anyway, it wasn’t mean aggressive. If I could tell you about his jokes, you could just laugh about it with me.
But he was a quiet boy when our parents were at home. If I would speak about his behavior, it would look like tattling on him. I said nothing about it because it would change nothing.
If we were outside going to watch a movie, I felt like at a volcano that would explode, you don’t know when. Once we got back home. He took me and threw me into a big trash can. I flew high then I landed on the plastic packs with trash. He was just four years older than me but he was bigger than our father… His huge muscles… He was a powerlifting champ in our school. But I was small and skinny. In my twelve years, I looked like a nine-year-old boy. He found it funny. Every time he could touch my tiny legs and arms, sometime he could split me for one of the gymnastic poses and I felt the pain in all my body. Our father saw it and said: ‘Sport is good for you’. But I couldn’t imagine myself with big muscles as my brother had.
We rode to school on the same yellow bus. He sat in rear seats with seniors but I sat in the front of the bus with primary class kids. My classmates sat in the middle of the bus. They didn’t find me as something serious. I didn’t play basketball with them because I couldn’t reach the ball anyway. Once, after the last lesson, two of my classmates threw me into the basket ring. I stuck there with both my legs. I just thought that it was good that I didn’t fall on the ground. Anyway, I could watch everything from birds fly high. They said some stupid childish stuff and took selfies on their mobile. I don’t know how long it was. The afternoon sun heated me and I felt not good. I just wanted to drink.
My brother came. There was a bottle of “Cola” in his hands. He shook and splashed it on my classmates. They stopped laughing at me.
‘I only could touch my brother,’ he said. ‘If I’ll see next time…’
They retreated shrinking themselves. My brother caught me as I fall from the ring. I took the “Coca-Cola” bottle – it was empty. As I just saw my brother above with “Cola”, I dreamed about a gulp of the fresh drink.
He looked at me and said: ‘Just patience. You‘ll open a new one at home.’   
We rode home sitting together in the last seat of the bus.
And I thought that all his jokes mean nothing.
And I’m nothing without my big brother.   


Рецензии