5. Brother 17

And a clear plan has ripened in her head by itself: to go to Lomonosova Street, ask in any hostel where agricultural academy students live, and then ask the attendant what room Nutam from Ethiopia lives in.

It was a pity that she didn’t ask his last name ... If at some stage a failure occurs and she cannot find him, then all this is nonsense and sick imagination. Then she has to forget everything and stop torturing herself! And if a miracle happens - one cannot name it otherwise - and she sees him again - then he is her fate, and let the fate decide.

“Lord, You know I believe You. I put everything into Your hands. If Nutam is just an accident, then help me forget him. And if it was You who sent him to me, Lord, then do a miracle! May I see him again! And then let everything be as You wish ... If this happens, if such a miracle is possible, and You want to do it for me, then I will believe in You forever, without hesitation, irrevocably and finally. Please, Lord! "

And she hung a cross, which she bought in the Vladimir Cathedral, around her neck.

This is how it happened that at about five o'clock Martha again found herself on Lomonosova, she came to know that students-agrochemists live in dormitory number five, but this did not go further. She just couldn't bring herself to enter the dorm. She suddenly felt unbearably ashamed. Students, merry guys and girls passed by, exchanged greetings and remarks, and it seemed to Martha that they all saw her as a stranger and guessed about the purpose of her arrival. It was beyond her strength to enter the dormitory and start questioning. And what will she tell him? What if it all was just her imagination, while he had forgotten to think about her?

"My God, I cannot do that! I'll stand here for fifteen minutes, until five, and then I'll leave ... Lord, if my heart is not deceived, if my pain really means that I am losing a dear person… send him to meet me. I will not push him away, I will not be the same as before... But if I do not see him now, then forgive me... And thank You for saving me from temptation. I will never regret it, even if later, after a while, he calls or… ”- she did not have time to finish the prayer.


previous: http://proza.ru/2020/09/10/887

next: http://proza.ru/2020/10/04/1791


Рецензии