Cultural Universe

What does your universe look like?  Were you surprised by the results of your grid?  Is it a good thing? Is it dominated by one group of people? If yes, why? How can you change that? Why is it important to work with and live with a variety of people that are different from you?

1. What does your universe look like? 
My universe comprises of interactions with people from various cultures. I spent most of my time in Brooklyn. My typical day can begin with freshly brewed arabica coffee sold at neighborhood grocery owned by Yemenis Americans. At work my Italian supervisor directs my schedule. During lunch time Chinese, Turkish, and Russian immigrants usually prepare my lunch. Occasionally I like to visit famous Di Fara pizza on avenue M owned by Italian immigrant from Sicily. On the way home from work I see diversity of people in Brooklyn driving their cars and walking the streets.
Living in one of the most diverse environments on earth called Brooklyn offers daily interactions with people coming from many different ethnic backgrounds and cultures. Each and single one of them portrays unique and proud culture with deep historical roots. New York has already established itself as a vibrant multicultural hub in the western universe. Coexistence of these cultures in New York presents fusion of vibrant reflections of the humankind. They are graciously displaced in ethnic customs, celebrations, cuisines’, native tongues, family relations, arts and fashion. Each offering its own heritage inscribed in history of New York.

2. Were you surprised by the results of your grid?

Analyzing the grid shows me that I am not only interacting and partially learning new cultures, but also virtually through spirit and good will visiting many different cultures and countries of the world. My life is filled with never ending journey into fascinating world of people coming from different cultures who had learned to be tolerant, respectful and humane.

3. Is it a good thing?
I had lived in different multicultural environments during my life and I learned that living in sync requires foremost humility towards humans regardless of their religious, ethnic and racial make ups.

4. Is it dominated by one group of people?
Of course not. In today’s societies around the world there much fewer demographic areas that are predominant by single group.


5. Why is it important to work with and live with a variety of people that are different from you?

Multicultural experience begins with curious acceptance of humankind. It makes people aware of different lifestyles, traditions, and ethnical backgrounds. Interactions between cultures teach us history and make us respect love each other. America is the nation of groups living together in peace and harmony.


Рецензии