Opening Hearts

____
Living in the mountains. 
Carpathians, Andes or Himalayas.
I choose the Alps.
I wake up early in the morning from the rising sun, fall asleep when it sets. 
I swim in the ice bath:
in the mountain lake where trout live.
I run barefoot on the first snow, 
falling in October.
I live in the mountains in a wooden hut. 
I heat it with firewood
I chopped in the summer. 
I drink cold water from a stream flowing nearby: the spurs go into my teeth,
but they get harder and stronger.
I listen to the bells and I know that the cows are grazing
so we can taste the best cheese in the world.
Sometimes I go down to the valley
to buy wine and bread.
I go up to the hut again. 
I grind the dry potion in bundles. 
I whisper prayers in Latin , take cloves, cinnamon
and put them into mulled wine to cook on very low heat.
On finishing I pour it into a five-liter thermos.
In the evening my friends come to my hut
just to talk.
They need to be treated warmly.
Hot drinks and potions are the best way to open hearts.
Wine pleases the mind. 
Words gets delicious.
And images gain more and more vivid colours.
It so easy and comfortable to live in the mountains
when there are good people around.
How hard and disgusting to live in a metropolitan woods
when there are wolves in sheep's clothing around.
It's time to choose and change.
Are you prepared?
14.01. 10.03. 2019
___
© Valentin Luchenko


Рецензии