***

Сонет 51. William Shakespeare

             Перевод Ирины Жуковой-Каменских

Моя любовь готова оправдать
Плетущегося вялого коня:
Когда от друга должен уезжать,
К чему любая спешка для меня?

Но кажется преступным вялый  ход,
Когда держу к тебе обратный путь,
И если б я на ветре был верхом,
Мне б шпору в бок ему пришлось воткнуть;

Желание любви - быстрей огня,
Обгонит с гордым ржаньем скакуна,
Любовь простит упрямого коня -
Не слишком велика его вина:

Конь медлил, уходя, разлуку чуя,
Пусть шествует один,  к тебе - бегу я!


  Sonnet 51

                by William Shakespeare


      Thus can my love excuse the slow offence
      Of my dull bearer, when from thee I speed:
      From where thou art, why should I haste me thence?
      Till I return, of posting is no need.

      O what excuse will my poor beast then find,
      When swift extremity can seem but slow?
      Then should I spur though mounted on the wind,
      In wing d speed no motion shall I know:

      Then can no horse with my desire keep pace;
      Therefore desire (of perfect'st love being made)
      Shall neigh (no dull flesh) in his fiery race,
      But love, for love, thus shall excuse my jade:

      Since from thee going he went wilful slow,
      Towards thee I'll run and give him leave to go.


Рецензии