Soup and porridge is our food

Soup and porridge is our food
 
               
Dear readers, “Do you like borscht?”
You might ask me: “what kind of a stupid question is this?” Clearly, young people—happy with burgers and sandwiches—will answer “no.” But older folks are happy to eat a plate of hot borschik, and even with sour cream and garlic! It goes great with small glass of cognac before dinner, and then dip the spoon into a bowl with this wonderful food, you can get great pleasure and pleasure! But the borschik still needs to learn how to cook! Unfortunately, not everyone knows how to do this!
Before marriage, I didn’t know how to cook much. There was never any need for me to learn, since my mom stayed at home and cooked for us.
So, my husband and I got married, and yet I still did not know how to cook any food!
One time, I wanted to surprise my husband, so I decided to bake him a cake. I found a cookbook with a simple pie recipe, baked it, and pulled the pie out of the oven, joyful and happy! But then I started cutting it and started crying! The inside of my pie was raw and soggy! Tearfully, I told my husband about my unsuccessful attempt at baking him a pastry. My husband reassuringly told me that the pie needed to sit in the oven for a little while longer, and that he would then happily eat it! A good idea indeed! He promised that, next time, he would help me bake.
               
               
One day, my husband and I finally decided to start cooking delicious food: a real borscht! I was ashamed to admit that I had no idea where to begin: with the cabbage or the meat! It’s good that he had gone for cooking lessons before getting married; since he had left home at 17, he had to cook his own food (for himself and others)! After he taught me how to cook borscht, I’ve been following the same recipe for the past 50 years!
Do you remember this anecdote?
A man and his mother-in-law are having dinner. The son-in-law is eating a small soup while the mother-in-law enjoys a nice Ukrainian borsch with dumplings, ribs, and sour cream. The mother-in-law starts choking on her food and mouths the word “clap” to the man, asking him to hit her on the back to dislodge the food. [Ed. Note: the Russian word for this is the same as “clap.”] The son-in-law begins clapping.
As the saying goes, you are what you eat!


Рецензии