Wallet, oh, Wallet

72
Wallet, oh, Wallet
Here is something to remember! When I worked in Kharkov at the Malyshev plant, I
was given leave in the summer. Alongside me worked a girl, Valya. Her parents lived
in Crimea, and she was going to visit them on leave, one week before me. She
offered to me to come with her. And for the first time in my life, I flew on an airplane,
to Simferopol. I spent a great vacation at sea.
We had to return together by train from Simferopol. The tickets were bought in
advance we brought a bus to the station, so I did not need money. I put the wallet in
my bag, in the side pocket. It was very hot. People ate ice cream, and drank soda
and lemonade. We also decided to buy something for ourselves. I searched in my
the bag—no purse! I shook out all of the compartments—there was no purse! Valya
reassured me, saying that she would buy me everything I wanted for my money. I
calmed down, and we did that. During the trip, Valya bought me tea and everything
else I needed. It was nice that I have such a good friend.
We arrived safely and soon went to work, exchanged stories, and discussed my
loss. We thought that someone taken out my money on the bus. And suddenly,
about half a year later, Valya brought me my wallet! Everything, even the money,
was still there! How did it happen?
Valya explained that she had found it in her bag. It turned out that we bought the
same suitcases in the same store (near our home)! I had put my wallet in the pocket
of her bag! But it was found! Hooray!
Where should you store money so that it will not be stolen?
Do not put your wallet somewhere where one’s hand could reach.
I recently read this funny story. It happened a long time ago, in the 80's, but I still
remember it. The mother of a young girl received a salary, and they went to the
market. Having weighed the meat, the woman was going to pay, but there was no
purse. She turned over everything in the bag – but there was no purse! Poor mother,
how she began to cry! Someone had stolen her wallet, with her whole salary! What a
nightmare!
Her sobbing was such that the two walked all the way home. Her daughter, as much
as she could, calmed her down, but the family needed to be fed, and the girl could
not do anything to help—she was only 18 then. They came home, took the stash of
73
emergency money, and returned to the market in the evening. When they came back
home, the mother went to shower, and suddenly started crying! The young girl
thought that her mother was no more! She runs into her bedroom and suddenly sees
a half-naked mother, laughing hysterically, with a purse in her hands! She, it turns
out, put a purse with money in her bra so that the money would not be stolen, and
forgot about it. Her mother’s breast is big, so the purse got lost! Mom hid the money
in the right place!
And remember the anecdote about the girl who exactly decided to save her money,
but could not resist the pressure of the young man. And then the girl said that she
thought that he had come to her in his bosom with good intentions!
Here is another story about losing a wallet. It happened with one of my relatives.
She brought home two shopping bags, and began to put everything in its place—in
the fridge, in the closet, on the table, in the pantry. Then, the phone rang. The
woman answered the call and began to talk, continuing to sort the purchases. She
was doing everything, we can say, “on auto-pilot.” When she finished talking on the
phone, she decided to clean up her wallet. But she could not find her wallet. She
became upset. Money, though a small amount, but still a pity. There were business
cards, and travel cards for public transport; even the purse itself was comfortable
and beautiful. Well, God bless it! I remembered the Jewish saying: “If you lost
something or you were robbed, do not worry, but thank God by saying: ‘Thank you,
God, for taking the money.’” So she calmed down and sat down to watch TV, and to
completely forget about it, decided to eat something tasty. She went to the kitchen


Рецензии