Simeon is the Sweetest Animal in my Life

Simeon is the Sweetest Animal in my Life

If you are depressed, get yourself a small beagle; and you will have a life. You will never walk without the dog. You always will be in good physical shape. When you have the dog, you won’t miss others; you always will be in shape and, believe me, in an excellent mood! Farewell, extra kilograms! You will have an ideal figure, after walking and running with the dog for 4 hours a day! And do not think that, after the walk, the puppy will sleep long, and you can do chores. Far from it! He only wants to play, play, and play even more!

It is said that the Beagle was bred in South Carolina, primarily for hunting and tracking small game. Several years ago, the Beagle took first place in the American AKC competitions.

We named our Beagle, Simeon. He is a medium-sized pup and extremely intelligent. His real name was Samuel when we got him at 11 weeks. Before him, in our house lived a smaller and uglier version of Sam, a Chihuahua with droopy eyes. We really love dogs; therefore, having   Preshow   [Precious] was a comfort for us. After we’d lost her after a tough illness, we decided to no longer have pets in the house. But our kids convinced (and truthfully, pressured us), but we didn’t give in.


 But one day, I said, “I want a dog.” And husband said that he did, too, but a young one, who would live long with us. We told of our wish to son. He looked around in the local newspaper, and soon, we became the owners of an amazing dog. We chose a white one, with ginger spots. Our grandson  was holding him in his arms the whole ride home. We made up a name for him, and I was happy and was telling everyone about how Sam would be my dog only.

Anyway, the name “Sam” was the one that his previous owner had given him. So, now we call him Sam. I was thrilled when we got him. I thought that Simeon would be my dog, only. The beagle is cheerful, independent and unbelievably social. Our pup is bright, and alert, as well as, cheerful with sad eyes.

I was still working at school, and my husband  was already the retired, therefore he had the time to be involved in the education of the dog. To tell you the truth is necessary: the puppy has not especially learned to execute commands. He was able to learn very little, but Sam understood Russian very well.

It looks like the dog was one of the excellent students in my class!



One day we were visiting our children and we were talking about Sam.  Our daughter-in-law, said that Sam probably doesn’t know that he is a dog. And I started       
thinking that, yes, he probably is not aware. After all, we did create a separate room for him, much like that of a human, with a large plastic box in which to sleep, complete with mattress, blanket, and pillow. Sam didn’t much care for his toys, preferring to chew on his blanket; or better yet, husband pants legs.

One evening as we were watching a movie, husband remarked that Sam has his blanket between in his mouth. He often does this. He will fetch his blanket or pillow and place them under my armchair. There he dozes off to sleep. After bringing his blanket to me, I said, “Bring your pillow and go to sleep!” (in Russian.) Sam brought his blanket and pillow then lay down to sleep. He understood the word “pillow” perfectly.

Sam lived with us just 8 years. When he passed away it was a very difficult time for all my family. I was so sad. We will remember the best animal in our life; because the best always will be Simeon!!!


Рецензии