The mystical avocado fruit

The avocado on the outside looks like an aged pear.
Avocados are greenish, incongruous, sometimes too firm.
Avocados like to lie in a paper bag, to ripen.
But I don't have the time or patience to wait.
Avocado, sorry, but I bought guacamole, a Mexican avocado paste, for lunch.
The egg and black bread salad is delicious.
I, the head nurse, make my rounds of the ward at lunchtime,
If the patients have an appetite, I'm in a good mood!


I go into the room with a new patient. An elderly woman turns her back to me.
 The food on the tray is untouched...
- What would you like for lunch?" I ask.
The toothless mouth whispers softly:
- Avocado, ay wont avocado! (I want an avocado.)
Running to get my lunch, I bring a guacamole salad with egg and black bread from home. But looking at my salad, the old lady said:

- "GUACAMOLE IS WHAT OLD AGE DOES TO A MAN:
CRUSHES HIS BODY, MIXES IT WITH MEDICINE AND
AND SMEARS IT ON WHITE SHEETS,...

I lost my appetite, tears came to my eyes...
But I have to hold myself  together, be firm, not like guacamole.
I told her that I would be back in ten minutes, citing an urgent matter.
I ran to the store and bought the most beautiful avocado in the world!


The avocado glowed with a dark green light, like an agate gem.
Legend has it, "The agate is the eye of an eagle that fell to the ground and turned to stone after a battle with a black sorcerer. And his eye continues to watch over people, separating good deeds from evil..."

I cut the avocado lengthwise, took out the pit, and handed half of the avocado to the old woman.
Her face changed, her wrinkles smoothed out, and her toothless mouth spread into a baby's smile. She sat down on her own, without my assistance, took a spoon from the tray and, covering her eyes with pleasure, savored the avocado, as if it were the most delicious ice cream in the world!
What a miracle!!! Before my eyes the old lady's wrinkles smoothed out, her toothless mouth turned into a baby's mouth - everyone loves to kiss and adore...

Could it be that the mystical avocado fruit, this edible agate amulet, can make old people young again?

Avocados don't like to be cut open and... not eaten.
The avocado yearns, saddens, and quickly turns dark, like an abandoned lonely person...
You must either pour lemon juice over the cut avocado to keep it from turning dark, or eat it quickly.
But I don't have any lemon handy.
So I went around the rooms looking for someone who hadn't eaten yet.
An elderly woman sits by the bed of a paralyzed young, thirty-something woman and tearfully begs her to eat.
I offer the patient, who has lost her appetite, a precious half of a mystic avocado before it turns black.
The patient with the progressive paralysis suddenly smiled and happily ate the other half of the avocado!
- You saved my avocado from spoilage, Miss Nellie!
- How glad I am," I almost shouted.
Miss Nellie, who has been bedridden for years, smiled at me, for everyone around her has done nothing but take care of her for many, many years...
And she could never be of any use to anyone!
Suddenly Miss Nellie said:
- I'm always glad to help!
What a miracle! Before my eyes, a young paralyzed woman had the opportunity to help me, a nurse, save the other half of the avocado from imminent doom!

The avocado was able to restore youth to the old woman!

And a helpless, paralyzed woman - the hope that she could be useful to someone!


Avocado-is the really mystical fruit!!!




Continued: The Gourmet Club Project http://proza.ru/2021/12/16/1647


Рецензии
Hello, Anny!
A lovely story!
Now I believe that... Avocado - the mystical fruit!!!

Мои скромные знания английского позволили прочесть рассказ без переводчика.
Спасибо, Аня!

Олег Маляренко   15.06.2022 14:00     Заявить о нарушении
На это произведение написаны 3 рецензии, здесь отображается последняя, остальные - в полном списке.