Mirage. The script

CHARACTERS:

 

NORMAN MATTEUSE – a portfoleo investor. Daria's boss.

 

DARIA – a new lawyer of the Norman Matteuse's company.

 

PAUL MIFLOVA – a businessman from Russia. Daria's father.

 

JAMES GARDENER – a lawyer of an old enterpriser from Miami. In love with Daria.

 

JO OWEN – an old enterpriser from Miami.

 

ANDREAS – Daria's friend. Ex lawyer of the Norman Matteuse's company.

 

MERSEDES – psychologist. Emigrant from Cyba. In a relationship with Paul.

 

THE WAITER – an african american.

 

 

 

 

A DRAMA OF TEN SCENES

 

 

 

SCENE 1

 

An oceanfront hotel room. A spacious window reflects the light and the black expanse of the water. Late night. On arival to Miami Paul Miflova had time to dive into the ocean and to have a dinner. He is getting ready for bed. The entrance door expressively opens wide. A beautiful young girl breaks into. She drops two bags on the floor, comes back to the open door and yells: “Hay, dad, I took the key on reception. Why didnt you tell me, I would meet you at the airport. I'll stay at your place.”

 

DARIA. (returnes with a suitcase. Hugs dad). Your daughter missed her father...

 

PAUL MIFLOVA. Hey, girl. Didn't want to bother you. We'll fit well. Settle in. Let me help you. (he saw the bags and the suitcase were cut) What is this?

 

DARIA. It's Andreas.

 

PAUL. What's happen?

 

DARIA. He didn't want to let me go to you. He is afraid that I won't go back to him.

 

PAUL. What a mexican passion you have. We will buy the bags, it's not a problem. Get comfortable in the room. I'll make coffe. I've got a desert and a watermelon. Of course, you can't go back to him. But your Andreas is a lawyer, the lawyers are usually cautious, they try to keep in check passion even with their close people.

 

DARIA. VVVVVery jealous. He is not a lawyer for almost a year soon. He's got his business, he repairs old cars, sell them, rent. A terrible miser. Dad, I feel sorry for this bag (shows a red bag to dad). It is very expensive. Exsclusive.

 

PAUL. You are already buying exclusive things? Wait. Get on your feet.

 

DARIA. Andreas gave it for my birthday.

 

PAUL. Oh, you tell a terrible miser. (smiles) Get the clothes out of the bag, girl. We will take the bags out to the corridor. And go to eat. There should be no damaged things in the house.

 

DARIA. Ok, daddy!

 

PAUL.(takes the bags out of the room) Dad is also with an adventure. I payed the room at the hotel “Pierre” by “Booking”, as usually, I arrive, and a woman there tells me - “Throw booking, pay me”.

I turned around and left the hotel, though I hoped a woman from reception will stop me. In seven blocks I found this hotel and this room. It is a wonderful room, isn't it? I have walked a lot of hotels for the seven blocks, and haven't seen more tolerant people on reseptions yet.

 

DARIA. (takes the phone suddenly, starts calling and talking in english) Good evening. I wanna consult to police. My dad came to Miami from Russia, booked and payed a room at the hotel “Pierre”, notwithstanding to the payment, they demanded money at the hotel again. Police advised to consult to you. (Daria listens, then tells to dad) Dad, will you return to the hotel “Pierre”? “Booking” claims, that you understood wrong, you were demanded only 100 dollars deposit.

 

PAUL. Lie. I will not go back to this ugly hotel. I feel comfortable here. Hope you also feel comfortable.

 

DARIA. (She listens what is told, explains that dad will not go back to the hotel . Tells to the phone: “Thank you,goodbye.” Tells to Paul again) Dad, you will be refunded the tax for paying the hotel room, but you will not be refunded the total cost, because you refused to check into a hotel room.

 

PAUL. Doesn’t matter. Let’s have a dinner.

 

DARIA. (not paying attention to dad, dresses up behind the curtains, then comes to dad) Do I look good? Usually I do look good having you around.

 

PAUL. Where do you think you are going?

 

DARIA. We are going to get the bags.

 

PAUL. It’s almost 1.00 a.m. Isn’t it too late?

 

DARIA. Not late. Let’s go. You promissed.

 

They both laughed happily. Not a hysterical laughter. They felt funny. They are leaving the hotel room. They go out turning off the lights.


https://youtube.com/shorts/lX0FK1K7NLg?feature=share


Рецензии