The lapdog of Yemelyan Pugachev. A first-person na

The lapdog of Yemelyan Pugachev. A first-person narrative.


It follows from the dogs' historical talkings that one of my ancestors served with Yemelyan Pugachev, guarded those huts where Tsar-father Peter III stayed.

This ancestor of mine had a nephew. The nephew saw Pushkin when Pushkin came to collect materials about the Pugachev rebellion.

The dogs' legend says that Pushkin was very popular person. All the dogs from all over the neighborhood gathered and barked at him in unison.

I'm living with the mayor's family now.

Two years ago, I was given a special vaccination. After this vaccination, I learned to read and to write. I can walk separately my front legs and by my hind legs, I can to say "give", "I want" and "thank you".

Three days ago, the mayor came with a very serious face and told to gather money, documents and personal belongings.

Masha was very unhappy. She said that the ATM was disconnected from the electricity, and that it had stopped working.

Then a beautiful white ship sailed to us. I was carried to a large, bright cabin.

The whole day this ship stood in one place. Boats were coming up to him. Boats delivered dogs of all breeds and sizes.

The dogs were settled in good ship cabins.

After that, we sailed down the river, then by sea, then by canal, then by river again.

The journey was very comfortable. They were doing the grooming for me.  I was taken for a walk. And if somebody want, such a being can swim in the pool. I showed myself to everyone: I walked my separately by my front legs and by my hind ones, pleased everyone with my cheerful appearance.

They put one of my coats on me before going for a walk. The ship deck is clean and smooth, so the shoes for my paws remain unused.

The ship was moored at the pier on the river bank. There is a big city here.

We will stand here for a while, and then we will go on a tourist voyage along the Sea of Azov and beyond. There will be a large resort area here.

As soon as our white motor ship docked at the pier, a correspondent from one of the local newspapers approached us.

They took me out for a walk. I asked the correspondent for his notebook and wrote this story in his notebook.

The correspondent promised that he would definitely publish this story in his newspaper. But he asked me to provide evidence that one of my ancestors guarded Yemelyan Pugachev. I explained to him that I have a black spot on my left ear - this is the necessary proof.

Everyone on the embankment watched me writing this story and was very surprised. The applause, at last.

I am completing the writing.  Soon we will return to the ship, the steward will come with a delicious lunch. It's a very good trip.

Perhaps we will visit Italy.

I wish everybody only pleasant experiences and only great trips.



Shunya, the lapdog.

April 7, 2024 12:15


Translation from Russian into English: April 7, 2024 13:24
Владимир Владимирович Залесский “ Болонка Емельяна Пугачева. Рассказ от первого лица ”.


{3504. Болонка Емельяна Пугачева. Рассказ от первого лица. - 7 апреля 2024 г.
MMMCDLXXV. The lapdog of Yemelyan Pugachev. A first-person narrative. - April 7, 2024.

Vladimir Zalessky Internet-bibliotheca. Интернет-библиотека Владимира Залесского. }


Рецензии