Уильям Шекспир. Сонет 131

Как неприятен мне твой деспотизм –
Не можешь ты гордиться красотой,
Но точно знаешь, как необходим
Душе моей влюблённой образ твой.

Кто критикует необычный лик,
В поверхностных суждениях неправ –
Чтоб вслед поток насмешек не возник,
С ним соглашусь, но мой ответ лукав.

Исторгну стон при мысли о тебе,
И сердце подтвердит, что я правдив –
Твой смуглый образ светлого белей,
Стеснил дыханье нежных чувств наплыв.

Темны поступки милой госпожи –
Молва её позором окружит.


      William Shakespeare
      (1564–1616)

      Sonnet 131

      Thou art as tyrannous, so as thou art,
      As those whose beauties proudly make them cruel;
      For well thou know'st to my dear doting heart
      Thou art the fairest and most precious jewel.
      Yet, in good faith, some say that thee behold
      Thy face hath not the power to make love groan:
      To say they err, I dare not be so bold,
      Although I swear it to myself alone.
      And, to be sure that is not false I swear,
      A thousand groans but thinking on thy face
      One on another's neck do witness bear
      Thy black is fairest in my judgment's place.
          In nothing art thou black save in thy deeds,
          And thence this slander as I think proceeds.


Рецензии