***

Анна Шустерман: литературный дневник

Скумбрия горячего копчения...
Золотистая,ароматная,
до умопомрачения!
А на сковороде
Румянится картошечка...
Где моя тарелка?
Чтобы всего понемножечку...


Немножко сверх ароматного, немного с горчинкой,
деликатеса моего детства - рыбий жир из бутылки!
На закуску камса - солёная-пресолёная рыбка.
Першит в горле, помню только руки отца и улыбку.
Ревновали сестрички, им по одной соленой камсе,
а мне столовую ложку любви и соленой рыбки, аж две!


*****



******



Everything in life must be tried!
Everything in life must be tried!
Anna Schusterman
The appetizers were served in crystal, the soup in a white porcelain tureen.
Everything was stunningly delicious!
After dinner the dishes were cleaned up by the housekeeper, and textbooks were piled on the table...
Well, in no way, no way was the study of the daughter of a hospitable hostess.
Two life buoys were thrown to save a drowning medical student!
Why only two life buoys if there were three of us? Because I didn't count, I wasn't going to save anyone, I just didn't want to drown myself!


Most of all Milka hated biology and Latin, and the other subjects, she just wasn't interested!
What was Milka interested in? Cosmetics, pedicures, manicures and of course hair! Mila-Malvina, we teased her.
No one had the right to violate her hair! Even after the wedding, her newlywed husband couldn't touch her...
Actually, Milka was quite a philosopher.
-"You have to try everything in life," she said when we were all sitting in the sexually transmitted infection clinic...
And she was the only one who didn't get ringworm! Rinka, Marinka and I, the three fools who had fallen for her entreaties to buy a tiny kitten from a drunken collective farmer when we were on an obstetrical internship at the collective farm.
Our company fell apart after graduating from medical school. We didn't become midwives.
I worked in the emergency room of Odessa City Clinical Hospital No. 1 on Myasoedovskaya Street for a short time.


"Everything in life has to be tried!!!"


With sarcasm, I remembered Milka's words as I shoved catheters for urine intake, gave enemas, fought off drug addicts...
One day I underestimated how an old man came to the shelf where 8 jars of urine were prepared to be sent to the lab, he emptied all the jars, but kept complaining of dry mouth . I almost got fired from my job at the time.
Rinka was already working at the Vodnikov Hospital and dragged me there...
Cholera started!
We nurses were pouring saline into the veins of unhappy cholerics, which came out by fountains through the anus.
We were rescued by the cleaning lady, Mrs. Anya...
who started her working day with half a glass of alcohol!
My friend and I were fired because we applied to the OVIR...
I lived in Israel for 16 years, I was a nurse at Rambam hospital.
In 1988 our family left for America.
Rinka continues to live in Israel.
She graduated from college with a Masters Degree and was appointed director of the clinic.



With Marinka, we were almost neighbors but we had never seen each other until a friend of mine told me where she lived!
Marinka is the director of a private clinic in Brooklyn!









Другие статьи в литературном дневнике: